Highlanders name team for crucial Chiefs clash

The Highlanders have named their Super Rugby team to play the Chiefs in what will be a crucial match in terms of deciding where both teams will finish in the standings.

Nasi Manu has been ruled out with a shoulder injury sustained in the lead up to last weekend’s game and is awaiting scan results.

Manu is replaced by Dan Pryor and lock Mark Reddish injured his hand in the match against the Force and is replaced by Tom Franklin with Joe Latta comes into the replacements bench as cover.

Richard Buckman returns to the midfield in place of Shaun Treeby. Jason Emery completes the back reserves on the bench for this match which is the Highlanders final home game for 2015.

Ben Smith’s 100th Super Rugby match, played last weekend, will be recognised by local New Zealand Rugby Board Member Graham Cooney who will present a pounamu mere post-match.

Shane Christie (hamstring), Hayden Parker (shoulder), Joe Wheeler (knee), Kane Hames (knee), Mark Reddish (hand), Nasi Manu (shoulder) were all unavailable for selection.


1. Brendon Edmonds , 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Josh Hohneck , 4. Alex Ainley , 5. Tom Franklin , 6. Elliot Dixon , 7. John Hardie , 8. Dan Pryor , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Richard Buckman , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Ben Smith (C)

Replacements : 16. Ash Dixon , 17. Daniel Lienert-Brown , 18. Ross Geldenhuys , 19. Joe Latta , 20. Gareth Evans , 21. Fumiaki Tanaka , 22. Marty Banks , 23. Jason Emery

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.