Hurricanes beat Blues in Auckland

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Auckland based Blues and the Wellington based Hurricanes both teams have won three and lost three.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Hurricanes kick off and we are underway. 

2.00: The Blues kick the ball into touch so the Hurricanes have a a line out. They win the line out and work the ball up to the Blues 22m line. 

3.00: Rey Lee-Lo breaks through the Blues defence, he passes to Victor Vito who passes the ball back to anyone in support on the Blues 5m line. The ball is grabbed by the Blues and they counter attack and get the ball down the field but the Hurricanes get back and kick it into touch. The Blues win a penalty and take the line out. 

5.00: The Blues win the line out and run it through the backs. Francis Saili is robbed of the ball by Nehe Milner-Skudder and the Hurricanes kick upfield. The Blues kick it back and the Hurricanes take the mark. 

8.00: The Hurricanes edge the ball forward gradually into Blues territoty. 

9.00: Penalty to the Hurricanes. Otere Black takes the penalty kick and nails it for the first points of the match. 

13.00: The Hurricanes put in a touchfinder which goes out on the half way line. 

14.00: The Blues make a mess of the line out and almost 5m away the Hurricanes take a quick line out which they win but then the Blues knock the ball on. 

16.00: The Hurricanes win the scrum and try to attack the Blues but at the breakdown the ball goes dead and the Blues get the put in. 

18.00: The Blues win the scrum and Jamison Gibson-Park makes a lot of ground. The Blues keep the ball moving but then after 4 phases they knock on. 

22.00: The Hurricanes work the ball up the field to the Blues 22. They win a penalty and choose a line out. The Hurricanes win the line out but the Blues don’t commit against the Hurricanes maul and the Blues win the put in at the scrum. 

23.00: The Blues win a penalty for not binding at the scrum. Ihaia West kicks for touch. 

28.00: Referees assistant Aki Aso is giving referee Nick Briant plenty of feedback from the side. This time the Hurricanes knocked on which was missed by the ref but highlighted by the assistant. 

31.00: The Hurricanes win a line out and kick upfield. The Blues kick it back and the Hurricanes have a line out inside the Blues half. 

34.00: Milner-Skudder dodges five tackles and then wins a penalty for the Hurricanes. Black kicks for touch and sets up a 5m line out. 

35.00; The Hurricanes win the line out. They use the maul but the Blues defend it. They keep the ball moving and then Chris Eves slips off the side of a ruck and scores. TRY! 

36.00: Black slots the conversion to extend the lead. 

38.00: The Hurricanes work the ball up to the Blues line again. They get stopped on the 5m line. The Hurricanes go wide and MilnerSkudder almost gets through but he is stopped and the Canes recycle the ball to TJ Perenara who slips over for the second TRY! 

39.00: Black takes the conversion kick and nails it as the siren sounds. 

40.00: It’s half time.

Hurricanes territory is at 72% and Possession is at 65%.
Tackles made Blues 65 and Hurricanes 19. 

The half time score was Blues 0 Hurricanes 17

The Blues kick off and we are underway. 

42.00: The Hurricanes pick up where they left off in the first half and continue to press the Blues back in their half. The Hurricanes go through the phases on attack. 

44.00: The Hurricanes win a scrum just outside the Blues 22. Julian Savea attacks down the wing but Gibson Park stops him and the Hurricanes concede a penalty. They kick for touch. 

45.00: The Blues win a penalty again after the line out and West kicks for touch again. 

47.00: The Blues enjoy their best attacking spell. They work the ball into the Hurricanes 22 but then Saili gets pushed into touch. There was a knock on before that so we have a scrum. 

49.00: The Hurricanes defend the scrum, win the ball and kick for touch. The Hurricanes win the line out and boot upfield. The Blues run it back and after a spell on attack the Hurricanes turn the ball over and Perenara knocks on. 

53.00: The Hurricanes continue to keep the pressure on the Blues. The pressure wins them a penalty. Black kicks for touch and sets up a 5m line out. 

54.00: The Hurricanes win the line out and after a couple of phases Dane Coles gets the ball at pace and crashes over for the third TRY! 

55.00: Black adds the conversion from out wide. 

58.00: After some pressure from the Blues on attack, Hayden Triggs gets a loose ball and goes over to score for the Blues but then he is called back for a knock on as he got the ball. The rain is coming down.

60.00: The ball goes into touch after the scrum. The Hurricanes win the line out and boot it up to the halfway line. 

64.00: The Blues work the ball up to the Hurricanes tryline. George Moala sucks in a couple of defenders and passes off to Matt Vaega who goes over to score. TRY!

65.00:Simon Hickey misses the conversion. 

66.00: The Hurricanes run the ball at the Blues. They go wide and Nehe Milner-Skudder dives for the corner and scores. TRY! Thats the bonus point try. 

67.00: The conversion is missed. 

73.00: The Hurricanes concede a free kick at the line out. The Blues will have a scrum. 

76.00: The Hurricanes attack the Blues on their 5m line. They lose the ball and the Blues get a boot to it and there is a race to the Hurricanes tryline which Julian Savea wins and saves a try. 

79.00: The Hurricanes go through the motions of phase play winding down the clock. They knock on. 

80.00: The siren sounds after the Blues win the scrum. The Blues work the ball into the Hurricanes 22. Jimmy Cowan knocks on but we go back for an advantage. 

81.00: The Blues tap and go. The Blues get through as Lolagi Visinia breaks the line but his pass is intercepted by Milner-Skudder and the ball is taken into touch. 

Thats it the Hurricanes have won. 

The full time score is Blues 5 (0) Hurricanes 29 (17) 


Tries – M.Vaega
Pen –
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – C.Eves, TJ.Perenara, D.Coles, N.Milner-Skudder
Pen – O.Black
Con – O.Black 3
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 1:Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 2:Aki Aso
TMO :Aaron Paterson



1. Sam Prattley , 2. James Parsons (c) , 3. Ofa Tu’ungafasi , 4. Culum Retallick , 5. Josh Bekhuis , 6. Brendon O’Connor , 7. Blake Gibson , 8. Akira Ioane , 9. Jamison Gibson-Park , 10 .Ihaia West , 11 .Melani Nanai , 12. George Moala , 13. Francis Saili , 14. Ben Lam , 15.Lolagi Visinia

Replacements : 16. Keven Mealamu , 17. Angus Ta’avao , 18. Nic Mayhew , 19. Will Lloyd, 20. Joe Edwards , 21. Jimmy Cowan , 22. Simon Hickey , 23. Matt Vaega


1.Chris Eves , 2.Dane Coles , 3.Jeffery Toomaga-Allen , 4.Jeremy Thrush (c) , 5.Mark Abbott, 6.Blade Thomson , 7.Ardie Savea , 8.Victor Vito , 9.TJ Perenara , 10. Otere Black , 11.Julian Savea , 12.Ma’a Nonu , 13.Rey Lee-Lo , 14.Nehe Milner-Skudder , 15.James Marshall

Replacements : 16. Motu Matu’u, 17. Ben May, 18. Tolu Fahamokioa, 19. James Broadhurst, 20. Brad Shields, 21. Chris Smylie, 22. Cory Jane,   23. Willis Halaholo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.