Sharks beat Reds in Brisbane

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Brisbane based Queensland Reds and the Durban based Sharks the Brisbane side have won two and the Sharks four.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off. Odwa Ndungane has been ruled out so Andre Esterhuizen starts for the Sharks. 

The Reds kick off and we are underway. 

1.00: The Reds knock on giving the Sharks a scrum. There is an early injury for Jannie du Plessis who gets some strapping on his knee. He carries on. 

2.00: The Sharks win the scrum and kick for touch. The Reds win the line out and run at the Sharks. Liam Gill bashes through the Sharks but then gets caught. The Reds keep the ball alive but then knock on.

5.00: The Sharks charge down a Reds (James O’Connor) kick and attack the home side. They win a penalty and will kick for posts. 

6.00: Frans Steyn slots the penalty and the Sharks lead. 

7.00: The Reds get into space in the Sharks 22. Chris Kuridrani races for the corner but puts a foot into touch. 

8.00: The Sharks win the line out and kick the ball into touch. The Reds win the line out and attack on the left. 

9.00: The Reds lose the ball and the Sharks turn it over and kick upfield. The Reds look to counter but then win a penalty for Bismarck du Plessis not supporting his bodyweight. The Reds kick for touch. 

12.00: The Sharks win the ball from a line out and kick upfield. They chase the ball but James O’Connor gets back and dots it down behind the line. 22 drop out.

16.00: The Sharks get the ball from a scrum outside Reds 22. Stefan Ungerer races off the back of the scrum, sells a dummy and then runs in the first TRY! 

17.00: Steyn adds the conversion. 

20.00: Penalty to the Sharks in the Reds 22 from a maul. The Sharks kick for touch and the line out. 

21.00: The Sharks form the maul. Marco Coetzee goes for the line but is stopped. The Reds win a penalty. 

23.00: The Reds get the ball in their 22. They run the ball the length of the field passing the ball through the hands and Chris Kuridrani scores in the corner. We go to TMO to check if there was a knock on in the move. The TRY is awarded. 

24.00: James O’Connor slots the conversion perfectly from the touchline. 

28.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Frans Steyn takes the kick and nails it. 

31.00: There is an injury break Stephan Lewies who will be stretchered off the pitch. Lewies comes off and Mouritz Botha comes on. 

32.00: The Reds win a penalty from the scrum. They kick for touch. The Reds win the line out but then lose the ball and the Sharks kick for touch. 

36.00: The Reds knock on just inside their half. 

37.00: The Sharks win the scrum and then a penalty for the front row collapsing. 

38.00: Frans Steyn lines up the posts for the penalty. Steyn takes the shot and nails it. 

40.00: The siren sounds but we have time for a Reds line out. They win the line out and use the maul. On the second phase though the ball is taken into touch. 

Its half time. 

The half time score was Reds 7 Sharks 16

The Sharks kick off and we are underway with the second half.  The Reds take the ball into touch after the kick off. 

41.00: The Sharks win the line out and immediately put the Reds under pressure. 

44.00: The Reds sustain the pressure from the Sharks and push them back to the half way line. There is a break in play for an injury. The game resumes. 

46.00: JP Pietersen tackles Chris Feauai-Sautia and his shirt comes off and the jersey gets wrapped up around the ball by mistake. We go back for a knock on. 

47.00: The Reds win a penalty for the Sharks front row angling in. Karmichael Hunt kicks for touch.

50.00: The Reds go through five phases on attack in the Sharks 22. Will Genia gets the ball and passes off to Samu Kerevi who crashes over to score. TRY! 

51.00: O’Connor slots the conversion and the Reds are right back in the match. 

57.00: Injury break for James Slipper who has a shoulder injury. He comes off and Rib Simmons takes over the captaincy. The Reds win a scrum and move the ball out to the wing. Kerevi is caught on the wing and the Sharks turn the ball over. The Sharks move the ball down the line and the Reds intercept. We get called back for a knock on earlier. 

60.00: Frans Steyn comes off and Waylon Murray comes on. Not sure it its blood. Jannie du Plessis comes off and Lourens Adriaanse comes on. 

64.00: The Sharks go through 4 phases inside their half and then kick for territory. O’Connor kicks the ball back and the Sharks return it with a little extra and in touch. 

68.00: Loose play from both sides. The Sharks put the Reds under pressure in their 22 , the Reds win the ball from a ruck and James O’Connor tries to clear the ball but it goes straight into the hands of Stefan Ungerer who drops to the ground and scores. TRY! 

70.00: Lionel Cronje misses the conversion. 

76.00: Samu Kerevi almost gets away for a try but he kicks the ball away. 

78.00: Dale Chadwick is helped from the field injured. 

79.00: The Sharks have the ball and are winding down the clock. 

80.00: The siren sounds and the ball goes into touch. 

Thats it the Sharks win. 

The full time score is Reds 14 (7) Sharks 21 (16)


Tries – C.Kuridrani, S.Kerevi
Pen –
Con – J.O’Connor 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries –  S.Ungerer 2
Pen – F.Steyn 3
Con – F.Steyn
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1:Matt O’Brien
Assistant Ref 2:Damien Mitchelmore
TMO : Peter Marshall



1. James Slipper (C) , 2. James Hanson , 3. Greg Holmes , 4. Rob Simmons (VC) , 5. James Horwill , 6. Adam Thomson , 7. Liam Gill , 8. Jake Schatz , 9. Will Genia , 10. Jake McIntyre , 11. Chris Kuridrani , 12. Samu Kerevi , 13. Karmichael Hunt , 14. Chris Feauai-Sautia , 15. James O’Connor

Replacements :16. Andrew Ready , 17. Pettowa Paraka , 18. Sam Talakai , 19. Ed O’Donoghue , 20. Lolo Fakaosilea , 21. Nick Frisby , 22. Sam Greene , 23. Ben Tapuai


15. Lwazi Mvovo , 14. Andre Esterhuizen , 13. JP Pietersen , 12. Frans Steyn , 11. S’bura Sithole , 10. Lionel Cronje , 9. Stefan Ungerer , 8. Renaldo Bothma , 7. Willem Alberts , 6. Marco Coetzee , 5. Marco Wentzel (Captain) , 4. Stephan Lewies , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements :16. Franco Marais , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Mouritz Botha , 20. Etienne Oosthuizen , 21. Conrad Hoffmann , 22. Fred Zeilinga , 23. Andre Esterhuizen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.