Chiefs beat Bulls in Rotorua

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Hamilton based Chiefs and Pretoria based Bulls the Pretoria franchise have won four and the Chiefs two.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Bulls kick off and we are underway. 

2.00: The Bulls win the ball back from the kick off and they test the Chiefs but then the Chiefs turn the ball over and press the Bulls back into their 22. 

3.00: The Bulls win a line out in their 22. They try to run the ball out of their 22 but the Chiefs stop them and turn the ball over. The Chiefs attack the Bulls. 

4.00: The Chiefs get an advantage on the Bulls 5m line. They try to bash their way through the Bulls defensive line. Augustine Pulu stretches for the line with the ball so we go to the TMO to check. No try. 

5.00: Damian McKenzie takes the penalty kick and nails it to put the Chiefs in front. 

7.30; There is a break in play for an injury to a player on both sides. The game resumes with a scrum. Jacques-Louis Potgieter comes on for Jesse Kriel. 

8.00: The Chiefs lose the ball at the back of the scrum. Bjorn Basson gets a boot to it and Jan Serfontein chases the ball and beats Hosea Gear to the ball and scores. The TMO checks and the TRY is awarded. 

9.00: Handre Pollard misses the conversion. The Bulls lead. 

11.00: The Bulls attack in the Chiefs 22. The ball is scrappy but it gets chipped to the corner. The Bulls and Chiefs chase the ball and Bryce Heem knocks it in the air back to a team mate but it goes straight to Bjorn Basson who dots the ball down for a very soft TRY. 

13.00: Handre Pollard adds the conversion. 

15.00: Penalty to the Bulls. Pollard lines up the kick and nails it to extend the lead. 

17.00: Another penalty to the Bulls. Pollard takes the shot but misses. 

20.00: The Chiefs win a penalty and kick for touch. The Chiefs win the line out and chip the ball ahead. The Bulls get back and chase the ball but they knock on. 

22.00: The Chiefs win the scrum on the 5m line and attack the Bulls line. Liam Messam drives over the line and scores. TRY! 

23.00: McKenzie takes the conversion kick. He nails it. 

27.00: The Chiefs work the ball back into the Bulls 22. They press the Bulls back but then the ball is intercepted by Basson who runs a little. The Chiefs turn the ball back over and stretch the Bulls with a long pass out to Bryce Heem who scores. TRY!

29.00: McKenzie takes his time with the conversion but misses. The corner was closer. The scores are level. 

30.00; Penalty to the Chiefs for tackling a player in the air at the line out. McKenzie kicks for touch. 

31.00: Agustine Pulu makes a break with a player outside him but then hits a speed wobble and falls over. The Bulls turn the ball over and attack the Chiefs. 

33.00: The Bulls work the ball to the Chiefs 5m line but then they concede a penalty. McKenzie kicks for touch to clear. 

37.00: The Chiefs have the ball on attack on the Bulls 22 line. McKenzie slips through two tackles but then has to run into touch avoiding another tackle. 

38.00: The Bulls win the line out. They initially run the ball out of their 22 and then have to kick.  

39.00: The Chiefs win the line out but pass the ball to the Bulls. The Bulls kick the ball upfield and into touch. The Chiefs take a quick line out and attack. 

40.00: McKenzie loses the ball and the Bulls play on. They win a penalty. Pollard kicks for touch. 

The half time score was Chiefs 15 Bulls 15

The Chiefs kick off and we are underway with the second half. 

42.00: The Bulls fail to engage at the line out so the Chiefs have a penalty. McKenzie will kick for posts. 

43.00: McKenzie takes the shot but misses. 

49.00: The Chiefs win another penalty from a scrum. They kick for touch and the line out. 

50.00: The Chiefs win their line out and set up the maul. 

53.00:The Chiefs keep the pressure on the Bulls in their 22 and eventually the Bulls leak and Augustine Pulu slips through and scores. The Chiefs lead. 

54.00: McKenzie adds the conversion and the Chiefs lead again. 

56.00: The Chiefs stretch the Bulls again from the kick off. They attack and McKenzie gets into space. He passes to Filipo who is stopped short but he gets the ball out to Pulu who goes over for his second and the bonus point TRY! 

57.00: McKenzie adds the conversion. 

62.00: Sam Cane is caught offside so the Bulls have a penalty. They kick for touch. The Bulls win the line out and attack the Chiefs on their 5m line. 

63.00: The Chiefs defend their line but concede a penalty. The Bulls choose the tap kick. They make about 1m and go to ground. 

64.00: The Bulls keep the ball alive and press at the line and then win another penalty. The Chiefs have a warning. This time the Bulls take the line out. They win the line out but lose the ball.  

65.00: The Chiefs win the ball from the scrum and run it into the Chiefs half and then kick. The Bulls try to counter attack but then get pushed into touch just inside the Chiefs half. 

68.00: Sam Cane is yellow carded for going over the top of the ruck. The Bulls choose the line out. 

69.00: The Chiefs defend the Bulls attacks and then win a penalty. McKenzie clears into the Bulls half. 

73.00: The Bulls use the numbers with a line out and set up a maul. They drive over the line and Lappies Labuschagne scores. TRY! 

74.00: Handre Pollard misses the conversion. 

77.00: Penalty to the Chiefs. They kick for touch. The Bulls kick it back and then the Chiefs kick it back to the corner and it just misses the corner flag. Perfect kick. Sam Cane comes back on. 

78.00: The Bulls win the line out and use the maul. Eventually the ball goes into touch. 

80.00: The Chiefs win the line out and attack. They go through the phases on attack and Tim Nanai-Williams slips through a couple of tackles and powers to the line and scores. TRY! 

McKenzie takes the conversion kick but misses. 

Thats it. The Chiefs win. 

The full time score is Chiefs 34 (15) Bulls 20 (15)


Tries – L.Messam, B.Heem, A.Pulu 2, T.Nanai-Williams
Pen – D.McKenzie 
Con – D.McKenzie 3
Drop –
Cards -S.Cane (yellow 68th min)

Tries – J.Serfontein, B.Basson, L.Labuschagne
Pen – H.Pollard
Con – H.Pollard
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 2:Aki Aso
TMO : Glenn Newman



1. Mitchell Graham , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Ross Filipo , 5. Johan Bardoul , 6. Liam Messam (c) , 7. Sam Cane , 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Augustine Pulu , 10. Damian McKenzie , 11. Bryce Heem , 12. Anton Lienert-Brown , 13. Charlie Ngatai , 14. Hosea Gear , 15. Tom Marshall

Replacements : 16. Quentin MacDonald , 17. Siate Tokolahi , 18. Pauliasi Manu , 19. Brian Alainu’uese* , 20. Maama Vaipulu , 21. Brad Weber , 22. Andrew Horrell , 23. Tim Nanai-Williams


Jesse Kriel, Francois Hougaard, JJ Engelbrecht, Jan Serfontein, Bjorn Basson, Handre Pollard, Rudy Paige, Pierre Spies, Jacques du Plessis, Deon Stegmann, Victor Matfield, Flip van der Merwe, Marcel van der Merwe, Callie Visagie, Trevor Nyakane.

Replacements: Jaco Visagie, Dean Greyling, Werner Kruger, Lappies Labuschagne, Arno Botha, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Burger Odendaal, Travis Ismaiel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.