Rugby Championship kick off times confirmed

Rugby Championship organizers SANZAR have confirmed the kick off times and venues for a shortened Rugby Championship tournament which will start in Christchurch with a match between the All Blacks and Argentina.

The condensed three-round championship sees teams face each other once, with a champion to be crowned on August 8, before a stand-alone round serves as final preparation for September’s much-anticipated Rugby World Cup.

New Zealand are the current champions and they kick off the tournament on Friday evening and a day later on Saturday the Wallabies and Springboks meet in Brisbane.

The full draw, including venues and kick-off times is now available with the exception of the Argentina v South Africa clash on 15 August which will take place in Buenos Aires at a stadium to be confirmed by Union Argentina de Rugby in the coming weeks.

The first match – a Friday night battle between New Zealand and Argentina – will serve as AMI Stadium’s debut match in The Rugby Championship, although the temporary Addington, Christchurch venue has previously hosted the All Blacks on two prior occasions (a 22-19 victory over Ireland in 2012 and a 30-0 whitewash of France in 2013).

Brisbane meanwhile has proven a happy hunting ground for Australia with the Wallabies beating the Springboks on seven of eight occasions at Suncorp Stadium with their only blemish being a 38-12 defeat to the South Africans in September 2013.

The Rugby Championship commences a fortnight after the Super Rugby Final on 4 July with the last round of matches concluding on 15 August, giving teams just over a month before launching their Rugby World Cup campaigns.

Round One.

Match No.1:New Zealand v Argentina
Date : July 17
Venue : Christchurch
Kick Off – : local19:35/ GMT 7:35/ NZ 19:35/ Aus 17:35/ SA 9:35/ Arg 4:35

Match No.2:Australia v South Africa
Date : July 18
Venue : Brisbane
Kick Off : local 20:05 /GMT 10:05/ NZ 22:05/ Aus 20:05/ SA 12:05 /Arg 7:05

Round Two

Match No.3:South Africa v New Zealand
Date : Johannesburg
Venue : July 25
Kick Off : Local 17:05 GMT/ 15:05NZ / Sun 26 Jul 3:05 / Sun 26 Jul 1:05/ 17:05 / Arg 12:05

Match No.4:Argentina v Australia
Date : July 25
Venue : Mendoza
Kick Off : Local 19:40 GMT 22:40/ NZ Sun 26 Jul 10:40/ Aus Sun 26 Jul 8:40 /SA Sun 26 Jul 00:40/ Arg Sat 25 Jul 19:40

Round Three

Match No.5:Australia v New Zealand
Date : August 8
Venue : Sydney
Kick Off : Local 20:05/ GMT 10:05/ NZ Sat 8 Aug 22:05 / Aus Sat 8 Aug 20:05/ SA Sat 8 Aug 12:05/ Arg Sat 8 Aug 7:05

Match No.6:South Africa v Argentina
Date : August 8
Venue : Durban
Kick Off : Local 17:05/GMT 15:05/ NZ Sun 9 Aug 3:05/ Aus Sun 9 Aug 1:05/ SA Sat 8 Aug 17:05/ Arg Sat 8 Aug 12:05

Non-Championship Round (not for points)

Match :New Zealand v Australia
Date : August 15
Venue : Auckland
Kick Off : Local 19:35/ GMT 7:35/ NZ Sat 15 Aug 19:35/ Aus Sat 15 Aug 17:35/ SA Sat 15 Aug 9:35 / Arg Sat 15 Aug 4:35

Match :Argentina v South Africa
Date : August 15
Venue : Buenos Aires
Kick Off : TBA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.