Cheetahs beat Stormers in Bloemfontein

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Bloemfontein based Cheetahs and the Cape Town based Stormers the Cheetahs have won two and the Stormers three.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Cheetahs kick off and we are underway. 

1.00: The Cheetahs put the Stormers under some early pressure and Catrakilis has to clear. The Cheeytahs get the ball back and counter attack. The Cheetahs win a penalty. 

2.00: Joe Pietersen will kick for posts. He lines up the kick and nails it. The Cheetahs lead. 

4.00: The Cheetahs go through the phases on the attack gradually gaining ground. The Stormers however defend well and they win a penalty. 

7.00: The Stormers work the ball into the Cheetahs 22. Siya Kolisi goes for the try but Rayno Benjamin rips the ball off him and he runs the ball out of the danger zone. 

10.00: The ball changes hands several times with the boot. Clayton Blommetjies kicks deep and the ball rolls dead behind the tryline. Cheslin Kolbe dots it down for a 22 drop out. 

14.00: The Stormers win a penalty. Catrakilis takes the kick and he nails it. The scores are level. 

17.00: The Cheetahs win another penalty. Pietersen takes the kick and he nails it. Cheetahs lead again. 

18.00: Sarel Pretorius makes a break for the Cheetahs but is stopped. The Stormers turn the ball over and they kick for touch. 

19.00: The Cheetahs win the line out and after a couple of phases Joe Pietersen attempts the drop goal but misses. 

21.00: Michael van der Spuy gets the ball from a knock on by Siya Kolisi and he races through the Stormers and scores. TRY!  

22.00: Pietersen slots the conversion. 

24.00: After a Stormers kick Sarel Pretorius decides to run the ball wide and Rayno Benjamin gets the ball and chips it ahead. He chases, wins the ball and goes over the line and scores. We do however go back for a TMO review to check for offside. The Cheetahs are awarded the TRY! 

25.00: Joe Pietersen takes the conversion kick but misses it. 

27.00: The Stormers run the ball at the Cheetahs who slip off a couple of tackles but the passing puts Dillyn Leyds into space and he goes over in the corner but cuts back in to make the conversion easier. 

28.00: Catrakilis has taken a knock but he will take the conversion. He nails it. 

31.00: The Cheetahs show patience on attack as they go through 12 phases. They get into the Stormers 22. The Stormers can only defend until the Cheetahs lose the ball forward.

33.00: Schalk Burger has taken a knock and is down. We have a break in play. 

36.00: The first scrum of the match results in a penalty for the Stormers. They kick for touch. 

37.00: The Cheetahs are playing the territory game well keeping the  Stormers pinned back in their half. 

41.00: The Stormers try to run the ball out of their half  but the Cheetahs keep them back. The Stormers win a penalty so the kick for touch to end the half. 

The half time score is Cheetahs 18 Stormers 10

The Stormers kick off and the second half is underway. 

42.00: The Stormers win an early penalty and will kick for posts. 

43.00: Kurt Coleman takes the kick but misses. 

44.00: The Stormers show some good hands on attack but the Cheetahs defence holds them back and Cheslin Kolbe passes the ball forward. 

47.00: The Cheetahs win a penalty so Joe Pietersen will take a shot at goal. He misses. 

51.00: The Cheetahs go through the phases again showing patience in the build up. The Stormers however hold them out. 

55.00; The Stormers work the ball into the Cheetahs 22. On the 6th phase they get a penalty. They take the quick tap and Duane Vermeulen crashes over for the TRY! 

56.00: Kurt Coleman takes the conversion kick and slots it. Cheetahs lead by one. 

60.00: Vincent Koch comes on for Frans Malherbe and Louis Schreuder comes on for Nic Groom. 

62.00: The Stormers up the pressure and Cheslin Kolbe enjoys a great little run. The Stormers keep the attack alive and go through the phases and the final pass back to Cheslin Kolbe goes to ground and the try opportunity is missed. 

65.00: Penalty to the Stormers. Their new front row is demolishing the Cheetahs. Kurt Coleman takes the kick but misses. 

68.00: Another penalty to the Stormers. Coleman lines up the kick again. He takes his time but again he misses. 

69.00: The Cheetahs get the ball and out of nothing Clayton Blommetjies slips through the Stormers and races for the line and scores. Schalk Burger claims obstruction but he slipped off the pass. The TRY is awarded. 

69.00: Joe Pietersen slots the conversion and the Cheetahs lead by 8. 

74.00: The Cheetahs press the Stormers back in their half. The Stormers turn the ball over and run it from one end to the other but then lose the ball. 

76.00: The Stormers scrum smashes through the Cheetahs scrum again but Craig Joubert just calls for a reset. 

77.00: The Stormers secure the ball in their half. Kolbe has a run but gets caught. The Stormers keep the ball alive but Schalk Burger is tackled and loses the ball forward. 

79.00 Scrum penalty to the Stormers. Kurt Coleman lines up the kick. 

81.00: Coleman takes the kick but again he misses and the Stormers miss out on a bonus point. 

The full time score is Cheetahs 25 (18) Stormers 17 (10)


Tries – M.Van der Spuy, R.Benjamin, C.Blommetjies,
Pen – J.Pietersen 2
Con – J.Pietersen 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – D. Leyds, D.Vermeulen 
Pen – D.Catrakilis
Con – D.Catrakilis, K.Coleman
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:Jason Jaftha
Assistant Ref 2:Rodney Boneparte
TMO :Johan Greeff



15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Rayno Benjamin, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Sergeal Petersen, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Boom Prinsloo, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.

Replacements :16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Dolph Botha, 18 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 19 Steven Sykes, 20 Carel Greeff, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Francois Brummer, 23 Danie Dames.


15. Cheslin Kolbe , 14. Johnny Kotze , 13. Juan de Jongh (vice-captain) , 12. Damian de Allende , 11. Dillyn Leyds , 10. Demetri Catrakilis , 9. Nic Groom , 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain) , 7. Siya Kolisi , 6. Schalk Burger , 5. Ruan Botha , 4. Jean Kleyn , 3. Frans Malherbe (50th cap) , 2. Bongi Mbonambi , 1. Oli Kebble (Super Rugby starting debut )

Replacements: , 16. Scarra Ntubeni , 17. Ali Vermaak , 18. Vincent Koch , 19. Manuel Carizza , 20. Nizaam Carr , 21. Louis Schreuder (50th cap) , 22. Kurt Coleman , 23. Huw Jones

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.