Leyds back as Stormers change three for Cheetahs

Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has named fit-again Dillyn Leyds on the wing as one of three changes to the side that beat the Bulls last week for this week’s clash with teh Cheetahs.

Leyds slots back into the No.11 jersey after missing his team’s hard-fought 15-13 win over the Bulls last Saturday because of a shoulder injury, with Pat Howard dropping out of the matchday 23 this week.

The return of Leyds is one of just three changes to the line-up that started against the Bulls, with prop Steven Kitshoff and lock Eben Etzebeth both being rested – the latter as part of the SA Franchise teams’ agreements with SA Rugby.

Oli Kebble will start in Kitshoff’s place (in his first start at this level, after 16 caps from the bench), whilst Jean Kleyn will make his 12th appearance in a Stormers jersey when he lines up alongside Ruan Botha.

Prop Ali Vermaak and lock Manuel Carizza return to the matchday 23 this week (on the bench), whilst starting tighthead prop Frans Malherbe and replacement scrumhalf Louis Schreuder are both set to win their 50th caps for the Stormers.

Malherbe, who is 24 years old, made his debut against the Lions on February 26, 2011. Schreuder, who is 25 years old, played his first match for the Stormers against the Rebels on June 3, 2011.

The Stormers are currently on a three-game winning streak, but have not won in Bloemfontein since 2012, with their record against the Cheetahs at Super Rugby level at the Free State Stadium reading as follows: played six, won three, lost three.

“We will have the same mindset for this weekend as we do for all South African Derbies,” said Stormers coach Allister Coetzee.

“We understand how tough these games are and we know we need to pitch up.

“The Cheetahs pushed the in-form Lions in Johannesburg last week, they’re a good side – especially in Bloemfontein – and we know this will be a tough match.”


15. Cheslin Kolbe , 14. Johnny Kotze , 13. Juan de Jongh (vice-captain) , 12. Damian de Allende , 11. Dillyn Leyds , 10. Demetri Catrakilis , 9. Nic Groom , 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain) , 7. Siya Kolisi , 6. Schalk Burger , 5. Ruan Botha , 4. Jean Kleyn , 3. Frans Malherbe (50th cap) , 2. Bongi Mbonambi , 1. Oli Kebble (Super Rugby starting debut )

Replacements: , 16. Scarra Ntubeni , 17. Ali Vermaak , 18. Vincent Koch , 19. Manuel Carizza , 20. Nizaam Carr , 21. Louis Schreuder (50th cap) , 22. Kurt Coleman , 23. Huw Jones

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.