Brumbies start Smith brothers against Highlanders

The Brumbies have named their Super Rugby team to play the Highlanders in Canberra on Saturday and for the first time in the team’s history brothers have been named to start in the front row.

Brothers JP Smith and Ruan Smith will start in the 1 and 3 jerseys respectively against the Highlanders in this weekend’s Anzac clash.

Not since George and Tyrone Smith in 2010 have two brothers started together, while Anthony and Saia Faingaa round out the only other sibling combination for the Brumbies, which was last sighted in 2008.

Playing in special edition jerseys, the Brumbies have re-adjusted their tight-five significantly, with a new-look locking combination of Blake Enever and Jordan Smiler also set for a start. For Smiler, it’s his first start for 2015.

Ita Vaea claims the starting No.8 jersey for the Highlanders match moving Jarrad Butler to the bench where he will be joined by Rory Arnold and Ben Alexander.

Robbie Coleman debuted at inside-centre back in 2010 and he will again register a cap there on Friday night. His move to the centres brings Jesse Mogg into the starting side at fullback for the first time in 2015 where he will be supported by Tevita Kuridrani at outside centre.

Fly-half Christian Lealiifano said the Brumbies would need a big effort to get a win on Friday over the Highlanders but he was confident the team had enough in the tank to get there.

“Tevita (Kuridrani) and (Jesse) Moggy are looking pretty good, they’ve been training hard the last couple of weeks with the red bib so it’ll be good to get that little bit of experience back,” Lealiifano said. “Moggy gives us great coverage with his kicking ability and Tevita with his size and ball carrying ability.

“Always special to play a New Zealand side on Anzac weekend, to think about the special sacrifices people have made for us over the years so it’s a nice opportunity to represent the Brumbies on such a special day.”


1. JP Smith , 2. Stephen Moore (c) , 3. Ruan Smith , 4. Jordan Smiler , 5. Blake Enever , 6. Scott Fardy , 7. David Pocock , 8. Ita Vaea , 9. Michael Dowsett , 10. Christian Lealiifano , 11. Joe Tomane , 12. Robbie Coleman , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Henry Speight , 15. Jesse Mogg , , Replacements , 16. Josh Mann-Rea , 17. Allan Alaalatoa , 18. Ben Alexander , 19. Rory Arnold , 20. Jarrad Butler , 21. Joe Powell , 22. Rod Iona , 23. Nigel Ah Wong

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.