Hurricane Thrush to win 100th cap against Tahs

The Hurricanes have named their team to play the Waratahs in Wellington this weekend and Jeremy Thrush will win his 100th Super Rugby cap.

Thrush made his Super Rugby debut seven years ago against this week’s opponents the Waratahs.

The lock, who will also celebrate his 30th birthday on Sunday, has contributed 45 points during his time in black and yellow, and will become the seventh Hurricane to reach the milestone.

First five-eighth Beauden Barrett is also edging closer to becoming the top Hurricanes point scorer of all time, needing just 10 points to break the record set by David Holwell 2006, of 676 points.

Chris Boyd has named a similar starting side to that which faced the Stormers two weeks ago, with the inclusion of Ardie Savea who returns from a finger injury.

Injury has ruled out Victor Vito and Chris Smylie (both calves), while Blade Thomson (concussion), and Dane Coles (elbow) also remain unavailable.


1. Reggies Goodes , 2. Motu Matu’u , 3. Ben Franks , 4. Jeremy Thrush , 5. James Broadhurst , 6. Callum Gibbins , 7. Ardie Savea , 8. Brad Shields , 9. TJ Perenara , 10. Beauden Barrett , 11. Julian Savea , 12. Ma’a Nonu , 13. Conrad Smith (c) , 14.0Cory Jane , 15. Nehe Milner-Skudder

Replacements : 16. Brayden Mitchell ,17. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen ,18. Chris Eves, 19. Mark Abbott , 20. Adam Hill, 21. Frae Wilson, 22. Rey Lee-Lo, 23. James Marshall

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.