Alcock wins 50th Super Rugby cap against Stormers

The Western Force have named their Super Rugby team to play the Stormers at the ‘Force Field’ (nib Stadium) on Saturday with flanker Chris Alcock returning to the starting line-up.

Twenty-six-year-old Alcock will win his 50th Super Rugby cap having played 25 times for the Waratahs and now 24 for the Force having joined the Perth side for the 2013 season.

Alcock replaces Kane Koteka, who has been sidelined after suffering concussion in last weekend’s match against the Cheetahs, while the remainder of the starting XV is the same.

On the bench, local Cottelsoe product and former Australian Under 20 representative Ross Haylett-Petty is set to make his Asteron Life Super Rugby debut.

Head Coach Michael Foley says Saturday marks another strong challenge for his side.

“As with any South African opponent, it’s important that we’re up for the physical challenge in defence and at the breakdown, which has been a feature of our performances in our past three matches,” he said.

“While playing physically is a foundation, we have to play smart to finish off the effort that’s being put in every week.

When ‘decision making’ is mentioned, it’s easy to assume there’s a level of complexity, but it’s a simple focus on firstly creating momentum and secondly playing with awareness to take opportunities we’re creating.

“Saturday marks a notable milestone for Chris in his 50th match. Chris has been an excellent team man and on field performer for the club over the past three seasons. Like all our ‘7’s, he loves rolling his sleeves up and getting his hands on the ball in attack and defence, and I know that all the boys will rip in to contribute to a memorable occasion for him on Saturday.”


1. Pekahou Cowan , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Tetera Faulkner , 4. Sam Wykes (c) , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Steve Mafi , 7. Chris Alcock , 8. Ben McCalman , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Sias Ebersohn , 11. Nick Cummins , 12. Luke Burton , 13. Kyle Godwin , 14. Luke Morahan , 15. Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Chris Heiberg , 18. Oliver Hoskins , 19. Ross Haylett-Petty , 20. Angus Cottrell , 21. Ian Prior , 22. Zack Holmes , 23. Marcel Brache

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.