Lions beat Sharks in Johannesburg

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Johannesburg based Lions and the Durban based Sharks the Lions have won just one.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Lions kick off and we are underway.

1.00: The Lions show early signs that they want to run the ball after winning the ball back. Lionel Mapoe however knocks on.

2.00: The Sharks win a scrum and they too run at the Lions with intensity. Frantic play from both sides. The Sharks however knock on.

3.00: The Lions win the scrum on their put in. After a little attack from the backs the ball gets to Faf de Klerk who makes a break and the Lions get to the Sharks 22.

4.00: Penalty to the Lions. They will kick for posts.

6.00: Elton Jantjies takes the kick but misses.

7.00: The Lions win the ball back and attack the Sharks in their 22. Most of the play has been in the Sharks half.

9.00: The Lions win a penalty from the scrum. Jantjies will take another shot at the posts. He nails this one.

11.00: The Sharks win their scrum in the Lions 22. They attack in the Lions with intensity and it earns them a penalty for offside.

13.00; Fred Zeilinga takes the penalty kick and he too misses his first attempt.

15.00: The Lions are finding holes. De Klerk makes another break and the Lions are on the front foot again in the Sharks half.

16.00: The ball pops out of the ruck and the Sharks kick it out but carry it into the 22 first so the Lions benefit from the kick. The Lions win the line out.

19.00: Penalty in front to the Lions. Jantjies slots the kick.

20.00: Andre Esterhuizen makes a break for the line but is stopped.  Renaldo Bothma follows up and goes for the line and scores. TRY!

21.00: Zeilinga adds the conversion.

26.00: The Sharks set up a line out on the Lions 22. They win the ball and use the maul but get pushed into touch.

27.00: The Lions win the line out and Jantjies kicks the ball into touch to clear.

28.00; The Lions steal the Sharks line out. De Klerk kicks and they chase but the Lions support knocks on.

30.00: Mark Richards connects with Willem Alberts and has to be stretchered off.

32.00: The Sharks win a scrum and the ball gets to Lwazi Mvovo on the wing and he races to the corner and scores. TRY !

33.00: Zeilinga takes the conversion kick and slots it.

36.00: The Lions put the ball into the scrum but the scrum has to be reset.

37.00: The Lions win a penalty from the scrum. Jantjies kicks for touch and the line out.

38.00: The Lions win the line out and attack the Sharks sending wave after wave at the Sharks. Howard Mnisi slips through and scores. TRY!

Jantjies takes the conversion kick but misses.

Its half time.

The half time score was Lions 11 Sharks 14

The Sharks kick off and we are underway.

42.00: A couple of minor injuries prevent the game from gaining any momentum early on.

43.00: The Lions win a scrum and attack the Lions. Ruan Combrinck makes a fantastic break dodging tackles as he goes. He gets the Lions to the line and Faf de Klerk pops over the line with a dummy. TRY!

44.00:Jantjies slots the conversion.

47.00: The Lions backs get into space and Harold Vorster races through to score. TRY!

48.00: Jantjies misses the conversion.

50.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Zeilinga takes the kick but misses.

51.00: Penalty to the Lions for a late tackle on De Klerk by  S’bura Sithole. Jantjies takes the kick but he is wide.

56.00: The Lions work the ball to the Sharks tryline. They put the tryline under pressure but the Sharks defend well and win a penalty. Zeilinga kicks for touch.

58.00:The Lions almost get through and away but they are called back for a knock on and the TMO is called in to look at a late tackle. Andre Esterhuizen’s tackle is late and high and he is yellow carded. Jantjies kicks for touch.

60.00: The Lions again almost score a try but they are called back for an accidental knock on 5m out.

62.00: The Sharks win their scrum and kick for touch. Derrick Minnie comes on for Warwick Tecklenberg.

64.00: Penalty to the Lions in the Sharks 22.  Renaldo Bothma “swimming up the side”/side entry. The Lions kick for the corner and the line out. The Lions win the line out and set up the maul. They win another penalty.

65.00: Jantjies kicks for touch. Lions win the line out but then lose the ball to the Sharks who clear it into touch.

69.00:Penalty from the scrum to the Lions again. They kick for touch again.

70.00: The Sharks are back to 15. The Lions win the line out and use the maul. They get to 1m out. Its scrappy. They go for the line again and again. The Sharks turn the ball over after 5 phases and kick for touch.

75.00: The Sharks have a scrum on the half way line after a knock on. They win a penalty and decide to kick for touch.

77.00: The Sharks win a penalty and they take a quick tap. The Sharks drive over the line and Thomas du Toit goes over.

78.00: Zeilinga adds the conversion.

80.00: Penalty to the Sharks. They will kick to win it.

81.00: Zeilinga’s kick is wide. The Lions have won.

The full time score is Lions 23 (11) Sharks 21 (14) 


Tries – H.Mnisi, Klerk, H.Vorster
Pen – E.Jantjies 2
Con – E.Jantjies
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – R. Bothma, L. Mvovo, T.du Toit
Pen –
Con – F.Zeilinga 3
Drop –
Cards -A.Esterhuizen (58th minute yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Stuart Berry
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 2:Rodney Boneparte
TMO : Deon van Blommestein



15. Andries Coetzee , 14. Ruan Combrinck , 13. Lionel Mapoe , 12. Harold Vorster , 11. Mark Richards , 10. Elton Jantjies , 9. Faf de Klerk , 8. Warren Whiteley (c) , 7. Warwick Tecklenburg , 6. Jaco Kriel , 5. Franco Mostert , 4. Andries Ferreira , 3. Julian Redelinghuys , 2. Robbie Coetzee , 1. Jacques van Rooyen

16. Armand van der Merwe , 17. Corne Fourie , 18. Ruan Dreyer , 19. Robert Kruger , 20. Derick Minnie , 21. Lohan Jacobs , 22. Marnitz Boshoff , 23. Howard Mnisi


15. Odwa Ndungane , 14. S’bura Sithole , 13. Waylon Murray , 12. Andre Esterhuizen , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Fred Zeilinga , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Renaldo Bothma  , 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Marco Wentzel (Captain) , 4. Mouritz Botha , 3. Lourens Adriaanse , 2. Franco Marais , 1. Dale Chadwick

Replacements , 16. Monde Hadebe , 17. Thomas du Toit , 18. Matt Stevens , 19. Etienne Oosthuizen , 20. AN Other , 21. Conrad Hoffmann , 22. Lionel Cronje , 23. Jack Wilson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.