Alcock returns for the Force against Cheetahs

The Western Force have named their team to play the Cheetahs at the ‘Force Field’ (nib Stadium) on Saturday with Chris Alcock returning to the side on the replacements bench.

Fullback Dane Haylett-Petty returned from a six-week foot injury off the replacements bench against the Sharks before the bye and this week starts in the number 15 jersey.

Haylett-Petty’s selection at 15 pushes Luke Morahan to the wing with Nick Cummins on the opposite wing making up the back three.

On the bench, Chris Alcock returns to the Force’s match day 23 while Marcel Brache will provide coverage for the outside backs.

Saturday’s match is an opportunity for the club to acknowledge the members, supporters, players and staff that have contributed to the first decade of the Western Force.

Head Coach Michael Foley says the match is an important occasion for both the team and club.

“We’re excited about returning home and starting the second half of our season,” he said.

“Having six of our final nine matches at home provides an opportunity to display the character of the team as we strive to move our game up a level.

“While aspects of our performances against the Sharks and Bulls were pleasing, we know combining passages of good play into wins comes down to our attitude to retain and recycle quick ball at the breakdown and physicality in defence.

“Dane has been very determined as he’s rehabbed from the injury in the first game and it will be good to see the intensity Chris brings to the team off the bench.

“Saturday is an opportunity for the club to acknowledge those who have supported the Force over the past 10 years, and to recognise their role in providing us with the opportunities we now have.”

Western Force

1. Pekahou Cowan , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Tetera Faulkner , 4. Sam Wykes (c) , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Steve Mafi , 7. Kane Koteka , 8. Ben McCalman , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Sias Ebersohn , 11. Nick Cummins , 12. Luke Burton , 13. Kyle Godwin , 14. Luke Morahan , 15. Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Chris Heiberg , 18. Oliver Hoskins , 19. Angus Cottrell , 20. Chris Alcock , 21. Ian Prior , 22. Zack Holmes , 23. Marcel Brache

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.