Hurricanes beat Melbourne Rebels in Wellington

Out of the last three Super Rugby matches between the Wellington based Hurricanes and the Melbourne based Rebels the Hurricanes have won two and the Rebels one.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

0.01 : The Rebels kick off and we are underway.

2.00: The Hurricanes knock on after the kick off so we have a Rebels scrum. It collapses and has to be reset.

2.25: Penalty from the scrum to the Hurricanes. They kick for touch and the line out.

4.00: The Hurricanes win the line out and build up the attack. They got to the 5m line but the ball and the attack slows. The Rebels defend well and win a penalty. They kick for touch.

5.00: The Rebels work the ball down the field and they win another penalty.

6.00: Mike Harris takes the kick and nails it putting the Rebels into the lead.

8.00: The Hurricanes keep the ball in hand and run at the Rebels until a Rebels players fails to release the tackled player so the Hurricanes have a penalty.

9.00: Jason Woodward takes the kick but misses.

11.00: The Hurricanes create an overlap after a ruck in the middle of the field and they pass the ball through the hands and the final offload is to TJ Perenara who scores. TRY!

12.00: Jason Woodward takes the conversion kick and nails it from the touchline. The Hurricanes lead.

16.00: Laurie Weeks of the Rebels is helped from the field.

19.00:The Hurricanes get a scrum after the Rebels knock on. The Rebels however win a free kick so they kick for touch and the line out.

23.00: The scrums are becoming an issue. The scrum has to be reset after a Rebels put in as it collapses.

24.00: The scrum stays up this time and the Rebels run the ball.

26.00: The Rebels win a penalty so Mike Harries lines up the kick. He nails it.

30.00: The Rebels win another penalty so Harris lines up. He takes the shot and he nails it putting the Rebels back into the lead.

35.00: The Hurricanes build up some momentum. They go through the phases pushing the Rebels back into their 22.

36.00: The Rebels win a penalty on their 5m line for not going through the gate. They kick for touch and the line out.

38.00: The Hurricanes win a penalty in front of the posts. Jason Woodward takes the kick and nails it putting the Hurricanes back into the lead.

40.00: The siren sounds but we have time for a penalty for hands in the ruck.

41.00: Mike Harris takes the kick and nails it. The Rebels lead.

It’s half time.

The half time score was Hurricanes 10 Rebels 12  

The Hurricanes kick off and we are underway with the second half.

41.00: The Rebels show good ball retention skills from the kick off. They almost get through but knock on and the Hurricanes counter attack.

42.00: The Rebels join the ruck incorrectly and the Hurricanes win a penalty. They kick for touch and the line out.

43.00: The Hurricanes win the line out and use the maul. They drive to the line but are short. They go again. The Hurricanes spread the ball wide and Cory Jane scores in the corner. TRY!

45.00: Woodward will take the conversion kick. He nails it.

51.00: Jeffery Toomaga-Allen comes on for Ben May.

55.00: The Rebels rumble the ball into the Hurricanes half. Its slow but steady as they go through the phases.

56.00: After a long period of play from the Rebels they loses the ball and it bounces backwards/forwards off Cory Jane’s chest. The Hurricanes chase the loose ball and Callum Gibbins scores. TRY!

58.00: Woodward slots the conversion.

61.00: The Rebels win a penalty on the Hurricanes 5m line after coming close to scoring in the corner. They use the scrum.

62.00: Free kick to the Rebels. Higginbotham runs it quickly. The Rebels have an advantage and the Rebels chip the ball away so we come back for a penalty.

63.00: The Rebels choose the scrum again.

65.00: After a couple of resets the Rebels win the scrum and run at the Canes. Mitch Inman goes over but there is a mass of bodies and he is held up. Rebels scrum.

67.00: The Hurricanes concede another penalty for offside and they get a warning. The Rebels choose the scrum again.

68.00: The Rebels win the scrum and attack. They cant get through but a penalty is awarded to the Rebels and TJ Perenara is yellow carded for a deliberate foul.

69.00; Rebels choose a scrum. They win the scrum and run the ball but Mike Harris loses the ball in the tackle and the Hurricanes kick for touch.

72.00: James Marshall chips the ball upfield and the Hurricanes chase. They get close to scoring but knock on 5m out.

75.00: The Hurricanes are a man down but they are controlling the ball in the Rebels 22. They flirt with the tryline 3m out but the Rebels hold them out.

76.00: The Hurricanes keep the ball moving but it slows and they win a penalty for joining the ruck incorrectly. Canes tap and go.

77.00: Nehe Milner-Skudder goes for the line and wrongfoots the Rebels and slips through to score the BONUS point TRY!

78.00: Woodward takes the conversion but he hits the post.

79.00: The Hurricanes win a line out and they go wide to Milner-Skudder but he is caught. The Canes keep the ball alive and go through a couple of phases and Milner-Skudder goes for the line again and he scores as the siren sounds from a pass from TJ Perenara who has just come back on. The TMO confirms.

80.00: Woodward takes the conversion kick from the touchline and he nails it.

Its full time. The Hurricanes win.

The fulle time score is Hurricanes 36 (10) Rebels 12 (12)


Tries – TJ Perenara, C.Jane, C. Gibbins, N. Milner-Skudder 2
Pen – J.Woodward
Con – J.Woodward 4
Drop –
Cards -TJ Perenara (yellow 69th min)

Tries –
Pen – M.Harris 4
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Stuart Berry
Assistant Ref 1:Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 2:Shane McDermott
TMO : Aaron Paterson



1. Reggie Goodes,2. Motu Matu’u,3. Ben May,4. Jeremy Thrush,5. James Broadhurst,6. Brad Shields,7. Callum Gibbins,8. Victor Vito,9. TJ Perenara,10. James Marshall,11. Matt Proctor,12. Ma’a Nonu,13. Conrad Smith (c),14. Cory Jane,15. Jason Woodward

Replacements : 16. Brayden Mitchell,17. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen,18. Chris Eves,19. Mark Abbott,20. Adam Hill,21. Chris Smylie,22. Otere Black,23. Nehe Milner-Skudder


1. Toby Smith , 2. Pat Leafa , 3. Laurie Weeks , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Cadeyrn Neville , 6. Sean McMahon , 7. Scott Fuglistaller , 8. Scott Higginbotham (C) , 9. Nic Stirzaker , 10. Jack Debreczeni , 11. Sefanaia Naivalu , 12. Mitch Inman , 13. Tamati Ellison , 14. Tom English , 15. Mike Harris

Replacements: 16. Tom Sexton *, 17. Cruze Ah-Nau , 18. Paul Alo-Emile , 19. Radike Samo *, 20. Colby Fainga’a , 21. Ben Meehan , 22. Bryce Hegarty , 23. Jonah Placid

* Denotes potential Rebels debut

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.