Sharks beat Lions in Durban

The final match in the second round of Super Rugby is in Durban where the Sharks will host the Lions in a South African derby clash.

It’s very wet in Durban. This could be a difficult match. The Sharks ground staff have had to sweep water off the pitch. 

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Patrick Lambie kicks off and we are underway. 

1.00: The ball goes straight out into touch. The Sharks win the line out and kick upfield but they concede a penalty for advancing. 

2.00: Marnitz Boshoff takes the conversion kick and nails it. The Lions lead. 

5.00; The rain continues to pour down as the Sharks scrum collapses in the wet. The Lions win a free kick after the second scrum. They kick for touch. 

7.00: The Sharks win a penalty from the scrum. Lambie will kick for posts. 

8.00: Lambie slots the penalty and levels the scores. 

11.00: The conditions are preventing much running rugby. The Sharks are awarded a penalty so they kick for touch. 

13.00: Lions are winning the territory battle. They win a line out in the Sharks 22. They move the ball from side to side as they put the Sharks under pressure. 

14.00: The Lions kick and chase for the corner and Ndungane gets back for the ball and is shoved into touch. Lions 5m line out. 

16.00: The Lions concede a penalty 5m out from the Sharks tryline for illegal scrumming. Sharks kick for touch. 

19.00: There is a break in play for an injury. The game resumes and the Lions get pressed back and concede a penalty. Lambie will kick for posts. 

20.00:Lambie misses the shot at posts. Short. 

24.00: The Sharks take control of the ball and suck the Lions defenders in on the far side of the field. Lambie kicks wide and finds Ndungane outwide and he catches the ball and slides in for the opening TRY! 

26.00:Lambie takes the conversion kick but misses. 

28.00: The Sharks go through the phases on attack, They work the ball to the Lions tryline but get held up/out.  Renaldo Bothma was close. 

29.00: The Sharks scrum powers through the Lions scrum. Cobus Reinach gets the ball and reaches for the tryline. Initially he looks short but the TMO confirms it is a TRY! 

30.00: Lambie adds the conversion. 

32.00: Penalty to the Lions. Boshoff lines up the kick. He nails it. 

34.00: The Sharks come close to scoring again but the Lions just hold them out and force a knock on. The Lions win a penalty from the scrum so they kick for touch. 

36.00: The Sharks are repeatedly using the cross kick to gain space. The Sharks win a scrum and kick across the field. This time it goes into touch. 

40.00: The whistle goes for half time. It is half time. 

The half time score was Sharks 15 Lions 6

Marnitz Boshoff kicks off for the second half and we are underway. The Lions have changed their front row for this half.

42.00: The weather is still preventing the game from being a free flowing one. The Lions take the ball into touch after a short run. 

44.00: The Lions steal a Sharks line out but they kick upfield and the Sharks kick into touch. 

45.00: The Lions win a penalty from the line out. Advantage was played but nothing came from it so we go back for the penalty. Lions will kick for posts. Lions are very much an improved side this half. 

46.00: Ruan Combrinck takes the Lions penalty kick from 50m out – in the rain but hits the post. 

50.00: The Lions string 9 phases together and get into the Sharks 22. Given the conditions it’s great continuity. The Lions use the cross kick but as Combrinck is caught we go back for a shoulder charge tackle by Renaldo Bothma. Boshoff lines up. 

51.00: Boshoff takes the penalty kick and nails it. 

53.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Lambie takes the kick but misses. 

57.00: The Lions string together the phases again and work the ball to the 5m line. The Sharks turn the ball over but the Sharks infringed so we go back for a penalty. No rolling away. Boshoff slots a penalty. 

61.00: The weather is drying up which is allowing the game to open up more. The Sharks attack the Lions and press them back in their half. 

62.00: The Sharks win a penalty on the 5m line, They choose the line out. 

63.00: The Sharks win the line out and drive the maul over. Marcell Coetzee is the TRY scorer. 

64.00: Lambie takes the conversion kick from well back and nails it. Sharks lead by 10.

68.00: The Lions up the attack and Lionel Mapoe races down the wing after a kick but SP Marais just catches him. The Lions kick for the corner but the Sharks get the ball. Matt Stevens comes on for Jannie du Plessis. 

72.00: A scrum has to be reset as the referee calls it wrong. He apologises and it resets. The Sharks win a penalty from the reset scrum. Lambie kicks for touch. 

74.00; The Sharks kick high and chase. The ball is knocked backwards by the Lions and SP Marais chases and scores. The TMO checks to see if the try is all legal. No try as Marais was in front of the kicker. We go back for a penalty to the Sharks. Lambie kicks for the corner. 

75.00: The Sharks win the line out and the Lions have to defend from 5m out. Warren Whiteley infringes and is yellow carded after a warning. 

76.00: The Sharks win the line out and use the maul and this time Marcell Coetzee goes over to score. TRY! Bonus point. 

77.00: Lambie slots the conversion. 

80.00: As the siren sounds the Lions are awarded a penalty. They get pushed into touch. 

Thats it the Sharks win. 

The full time is Sharks 29 (15) Lions 12 (6) 


Tries – A.Ndungane, C. Reinach, M.Coetzee 2
Pen – P.Lambie 
Con – P.Lambie 3
Drop –
Cards –

Tries –
Pen – M.Boshoff 4
Con –
Drop –
Cards -W.Whiteley (76th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Ref 1:Andrew Lees
Assistant Ref 2:Stuart Berry
TMO : Marius Jonker



15. SP Marais , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Waylon Murray , 12. Heimar Williams , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Patrick Lambie , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Tera Mtembu , 7. Renaldo Bothma , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit , 4. Lubabalo Mtyanda , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (C) , 1. Dale Chadwick

Replacements : 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Thomas du Toit , 18. Matt Stevens , 19. Marco Wentzel , 20. Jean Deysel , 21. Conrad Hoffmann , 22. Fred Zeilinga , 23. Andre Esterhuizen


15. Andries Coetzee , 14. Ruan Combrinck , 13. Lionel Mapoe , 12. Howard Mnisi , 11. Courtnall Skosan , 10. Marnitz Boshoff , 9. Ross Cronje , 8. Warren Whiteley (c) , 7. Warwick Tecklenburg , 6. Derick Minnie , 5. Franco Mostert , 4. Martin Muller , 3. Ruan Dreyer , 2. Malcolm Marx , 1. Jacques van Rooyen

Replacements : 16. Robbie Coetzee , 17. Schalk van der Merwe , 18. Julian Redelinghuys , 19. JP du Preez , 20. Ruaan Lerm , 21. Faf de Klerk , 22. Elton Jantjies , 23. Harold Vorster

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.