Reds beat Western Force in Brisbane

 The Queensland Reds will play their first Super Rugby match at home in 2015 on Saturday when the Western Force visit Brisbane.

James O’Connor has failed a late fitness test. Nick Frisby will play at flyhalf for the Reds. 

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Sias Ebersohn kicks off and we are underway. 

1.00: Both teams kick from side to side and it ends when Lachie Turner kicks the ball into touch. 

2.00: The Force win a line out but knock on so the Reds have a scrum in their 22. 

4.00: Scrums are battling to complete. Another scrum collapses and this time Francois van Wyk is injured and it looks to be over for him. The medics are helping him. He comes off with his arm in a makeshift sling. One South African goes off in Van Wyk and another in Chris Heiberg comes on as his replacement. The game resumes with the scrum. 

5.00: Yet again the scrum has to be reset. 

6.00: The scrum completes and the Force run at the Reds. Ebersohn chips ahead for Brache but the Reds get back and defend. The Reds try to run the ball back but get pushed into touch. 

7.00: Force line out is stolen by Adam Thomson. Reds kick for touch but don’t find it. The Force kick back and Frisby takes the mark. 

11.00: Both teams using the boot a lot testing each other’s defence. 

12.00; The Reds set up a line out on the Force’s 22 line. They win the line out and attack. The ball slows in the middle of the field but the Reds keep the attack alive. 

13.00: Penalty in front of the posts to the Reds. They will kick for posts. 

14.00: Lachie Turner takes the penalty kick from in front and he nails it. The Reds lead. 

17.00: Penalty to the Reds again. Turner bangs it over. 

19.00: Penalty to the Western Force. Sias Ebersohn takes the kick and nails it. The Force are on the board. 

22.00: The Reds are showing strong signs of attack. They win a penalty and kick for touch. 

24.00: The Reds lose the ball on the 5m line at the line out. The Force lose Chris Heiberg to the sin bin. The Reds kick for touch and the line out again. 

26.00: James Horwill comes off for a blood bin. Dave McDuling comes on – he wasn’t even on the team sheet yesterday. 

29.00: James Slipper comes off and is replaced by Ben Daley. The Force have a penalty so Ebersohn lines up and he nails it levelling the scores. Slipper won’t be back. 

32.00: The Force win a line out in the Reds 22. The Reds however counter ruck at the breakdown, win the ball and kick for touch. 

34.00: The Force kick for territory but the Reds run it back at them. It starts with a run from  Chris Kuridrani who passes to Samu Kerevi who passes to Lachie Turner who stumbles over in a tackle and scores. TRY! Great try. 

35.00: Turner misses the conversion. 

38.00 : The Force use the boot and kick deep again. The Reds counter kick and find touch. 

40.00: The Reds have a line out but the ball goes to ground and it’s half time. 

The half time score was Reds 11 W.Force 6

The Reds kick off and we are underway with the second half. 

42.00: The Reds show an early intent to attack and they press the Force back to their 22. The Force however turn the ball over and kick deep. 

43.00: There is a break in play for an injury to a Reds player. The game resumes. 

44.00: The Reds have an attacking scrum 5m out. They win a penalty from the scrum. 

46.00: Lachie Turner lines up the kick and hits the post. The ball bounces wildly and the Force knock on, so we have a scrum again. 

47.00: Will Genia tries to snipe from the scrum but is held up. 5m scrum again. 

50.00: The Force get a warning for their scrum. It gets reset and collapses again. Reds ball.

53.00: The scrum finally manages to complete and the Reds fire the ball down their backline and Chris Feauai-Sautia scores. We go to the TMO to check. The pass is forward so no try. Sef Faagase comes on for Sam Talakai at tighthead prop.

54.00: The Force scrum has to be reset. We could be here for a while. 

55.00: The referee loses patience with the Force’s scrum and awards a penalty TRY!

56.00: Turner slots the conversion.

61.00: The Force concede a free kick from the scrum for early engage. The Reds choose another scrum. 

62.00: Penalty from the scrum to the Reds. Turner will kick for the corner. Mitchell Scott comes on for Sias Ebersohn. 

65.00: Ian Prior comes on for Alby Mathewson of the Force. We have another scrum. 

67.00: Yet another scrum has to be reset. It completes and the Reds knock on. We have a break in play due to an injury. 

68.00: The game resumes and we have yet another injury. Chris Alcock is down and the stretcher is already on the field. The stretcher is not needed but Alcock is helped off with an ankle injury. The Force win a free kick from the scrum so they run it. 

69.00: The Force try to run the ball but the Reds knock on. 

72.00: The Force work the ball into the Reds 22. They put the Reds under pressure on the 5m line. The Reds defence holds them out. 

73.00: The Reds turn the ball over and kick it into touch. 

74.00: Will Genia kicks a loose line out ball well upfield into touch in his 22 but the touchie gets it completely wrong and says he was out of his 22. 

75.00: The Force get a line out and a chance to attack in the Reds 22. They win the ball and attack. Campbell Magnay almost gets away with an intercept but we are called back. The Force kick for touch and the line out. 

76.00: The Force’s line out is not straight so the Reds get “out of jail “for now. 

79.00: The Force win a penalty and they kick for touch and set up a line out in the Reds 22. They win the ball but knock on. 

80.00: The siren sounds but we have time for a scrum. The scrum collapses and a free kick is awarded and the Reds kick in to touch. 

The full time score is Reds 18 (11) W.Force 6 (6)


Tries – L.Turner, Penalty Try
Pen – L.Turner 2
Con – L.Turner
Drop –
Cards –

Tries –
Pen – S.Ebersohn 2
Con –
Drop –
Cards -C.Heiberg (24th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 1:Matt O’Brien
Assistant Ref 2:Damien Mitchelmore
TMO : George Ayoub



1 James Slipper (C) , 2 Saia Fainga’a , 3 Sam Talakai , 4 Marco Kotze , 5 James Horwill , 6 Adam Thomson (Reds debut) , 7 Liam Gill , 8 Jake Schatz , 9 Will Genia , 10 Nick Frisby , 11 Campbell Magnay , 12 Samu Kerevi , 13 Chris Feauai-Sautia , 14 Chris Kuridrani , 15 Lachie Turner

Replacements : 16 James Hanson , 17 Ben Daley , 18 Sef Faagase , 19 Tom Murday (Potential Super Rugby debut) , 20 Curtis Browning , 21 Tom Banks , 22 Sam Johnson , 23 Dave McDuling

Western Force

1. Francois van Wyk* , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Tetera Faulkner , 4. Sam Wykes (c) , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Angus Cottrell , 7. Chris Alcock , 8. Ben McCalman , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Sias Ebersohn , 11. Marcel Brache , 12. Solomoni Jnr Rasolea , 13. Kyle Godwin , 14. Luke Morahan , 15. Zack Holmes

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Chris Heiberg** , 18. Oliver Hoskins , 19. Steve Mafi , 20. Brynard Stander , 21. Ian Prior , 22. Luke Burton , 23. Mitchell Scott**

* denotes Western Force/Super Rugby starting debut ,
** denotes Western Force/Super Rugby debut

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.