Hurricanes beat Bulls in Pretoria

Super Rugby Round 2 in South Africa kicks off in Pretoria where the Bulls will host the Hurricanes at Loftus Versfeld on Friday.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Bulls (Handre Pollard) kick off and we are underway. 

1.00: The Hurricanes take the ball out after the kick off giving a line out to the Bulls. They win the line out and attack the Hurricanes. 

2.00: The Hurricanes turn the ball over and kick the ball into touch. 

3.00: The match is fairly even so far. Both teams try to run the ball but knock on. 

6.00: The Bulls win a scrum – after it had to be reset – and Pollard kicks it well downfield. The Hurricanes win the line out but lose the ball and the Bulls counter attack in the Hurricanes 22. 

8.00: The Bulls are showing a real intent on attacking. At the same time the Hurricanes defence is keeping them out. 

9.00: The Bulls lose the ball in their attack and Beauden Barrett kicks the ball into touch. 

11.00: Penalty to the Hurricanes. Barrett takes the kick and nails it. The Hurricanes lead. 

14.00: Another penalty to the Hurricanes after Jacques du Plessis tackled a player in the air at the line out. 

16.00: Barrett lines up the kick but misses. 

17.00: The Bulls concede another penalty for the tackler not releasing (Matfield). Barrett lines up the penalty kick. 

19.00: Barrett slots the kick and extends the lead.  Hanro Liebenberg  comes on for Deon Stegmann. 

20.0: Hurricanes possession is at 63% for the first 20 minutes. 

22.00: Yet another penalty for the Hurricanes (Matfield) for bringing the maul down. They choose the line out. 

22.00: The Hurricanes concede a penalty at the line out so the Bulls kick for touch. 

25.00: The Bulls make some ground with the maul. The second time they use it the Hurricanes manage to stop it and they get the put in at the scrum. 

26.00; The Bulls concede yet another penalty for the tackler not releasing. The Hurricanes kick for touch and the line out. 

27.00: The Hurricanes win the line out but the pass to Savea in centrefield is poor and he knocks on. The Hurricanes concede a penalty so Pollard will kick for posts on the half way line. He nails it. Bulls on the board. 

30.00: The Bulls build up come momentum after a break from Jesse Kriel and after a couple of recycles Handre Pollard scores the opening TRY! 

34.00: Lappies Labuschagne concedes a penalty so Barrett gets another shot at goal. He curls it wide to the left. 

36.00: The Hurricanes win a scrum and run the ball but Barrett knocks on. He had to stretch for the ball. 

38.00: The Bulls concede a penalty at the line out so the Hurricanes choose a scrum inside the Bulls 22. 

39.00: Scrum penalty to the Hurricanes – Morne Mellett collapsing. Barrett will kick for posts. 

41.00: Barrett slots the penalty and it’s half time. 

The half time score was Bulls 10 Hurricanes 9

Beauden Barrett kicks off and we are underway with the second half. 

41.00: The Hurricanes show good continuity in the early stages. They press the Bulls back for a bit and then Chip ahead. Pollard clears the ball to the Hurricanes who start their attack all over again. 

43.00: The Bulls win a penalty for not releasing. Handre Pollard will kick for posts from well out. 

44.00: Pollard takes the shot from almost 10m inside his half and hits the post. 

46.00: Penalty to the Hurricanes. Barrett strikes it well and nails it. The Hurricanes lead again. 

47.00: Francois Hougaard concedes a penalty for tackling Cory Jane in the air. Barrett kicks for touch. 

49.00: The Bulls win a penalty so Pollard kicks for touch. He finds it so the Bulls have an attacking line out. Dean Greyling comes on for Morne Mellett. 

50.00: The Hurricanes concede a penalty at the line out. Pollard will take a shot. 

52.00: Pollard slots the penalty and the Bulls lead again. 

54.00: The Bulls have a scrum in their own half. The scrum fails to complete and they win a free kick. They tap the ball and run. 

55.00: Lappies Labuschagne concedes another penalty at the breakdown so Barrett kicks for touch. 

59.00: The Bulls kick high and Cory Jane knocks on as he confronts Francois Hougaard in the air. The Bulls then win the scrum and from that they win a penalty. Pollard kicks for touch. 

60.00: As the clock ticks to 60 minutes the Bulls up their intensity but after a couple of phases they knock on. 

62.00: The Hurricanes win a penalty from the scrum, Barrett kicks for touch. 

64.00: TJ Perenara spots space behind the Bulls and puts in a perfect kick for touch. The Hurricanes win the line out 5m out and they drive for the Bulls line. They have several goes at the line but are kept out. The Hurricanes will have a scrum 5m out. 

65.00: The Hurricanes have several goes at the line and then they win a penalty. Julian Savea takes a quick tap and dives for the line to score. TRY! 

67.00: Beauden Barrett takes the conversion kick and just misses. 

71.00: Brad Shields loses the ball forward as the Hurricanes look to attack. 

73.00: The Bulls go through several phases on attack but then they lose the ball forward. 

74.00: The Bulls try to attack but the Hurricanes defence sucks it up and forces a knock on. 

76.00: The Bulls are throwing everything into their attack. They move the ball from side to side looking for a hole. They go through five phases and make ground and then they go wide and go over in the corner. The TMO will check. No try for Grant Hattingh. 

77.00: The Hurricanes get a 22 drop out. 

79.00:The Hurricanes win the ball back and wind the clock down. 

The siren goes and the Hurricanes kick the ball out. 

Thats it. The Hurricanes win. 

The full time score is Bulls 13 (10) Hurricanes 17 (9)


Tries – H.Pollard
Pen – H.Pollard 2
Con – H.Pollard
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – J.Savea 
Pen – B.Barrett 4
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Andrew Lees
Assistant Ref 1:Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Ref 2:Jaco van Heerden
TMO :Johan Greeff



15 Jesse Kriel , 14 Bjorn Basson , 13 JJ Engelbrecht , 12 Jan Serfontein , 11 Francois Hougaard , 10 Handre Pollard , 9 Piet van Zyl , 8 Pierre Spies ( C ) , 7 Lappies Labuschagne , 6 Deon Stegmann , 5 Victor Matfield , 4 Jacques du Plessis , 3 Trevor Nyakane , 2 Adriaan Strauss , 1 Morne Mellet

Replacements : 16 Callie Visagie , 17 Dean Greyling , 18 Grant Hattingh , 19 Hanro Liebenberg , 20 Rudy Paige , 21 Jacques-Louis Potgieter , 22 Jurgen Visser , 23 Dayan vd Westhuizen


1. Reggie Goodes, 2. Dane Coles, 3. Ben Franks, 4. Mark Abbott, 5. James Broadhurst, 6. Brad Shields, 7. Callum Gibbins, 8. Blade Thomson, 9. TJ Perenara, 10. Beauden Barrett, 11. Julian Savea, 12. Ma’a Nonu, 13. Conrad Smith, 14. Cory Jane, 15. Jason Woodward

Replacements : 16. Brayden Mitchell, 17. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 18. Chris Eves, 19. Ardie Savea, 20. Victor Vito, 21. Chris Smylie, 22. James Marshall, 23. Matt Proctor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.