Waratahs beat Rebels in Melbourne

 Super Rugby moves across the Tasman in the second match of Round 2 to Melbourne where the Rebels host Super Rugby champions the Waratahs.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Rebels kick off and we are underway.

2.00: The Rebels put some early pressure on the Waratahs but the visitors sustain the pressure and work the ball into the Rebels half. The Waratahs win a penalty and kick for touch. 

3.00; The Waratahs win the line out and attack. They make ground and then win a penalty at the break down for not supporting your body weight.

4.00: Bernard Foley takes the penalty kick and he nails it. The Waratahs lead. 

6.00: The Waratahs take the ball into touch. 

7.00: The Rebels win their line out. Jack Debreczeni kicks deep but Kurtley Beale loses the ball as he goes to take it so the Rebels have a scrum just outside the Waratahs 22. 

10.00: The Rebels are putting the Waratahs under pressure. They win the put in just inside the Waratahs 22. 

11.00: The Waratahs win the scrum but then Phipps loses the ball and the Rebels get the ball. After a couple of recycles Scott Higginbotham slips through the Waratahs defence (Skelton) and races for the line and scores next to the posts. TRY! 

12.00: Mike Harris adds the conversion and the Rebels lead. 

17.00: Penalty to the Rebels from the scrum. Front row collapsing. The Rebels kick for touch. 

21.00: The Waratahs send wave after wave of attack at the Rebels but nothing looks like it is on but then out of nothing Kurtley Beale uses the chip kick and regathers the ball and passes to Stephen Hoiles who scores under the posts. TRY! 

22.00: Foley adds the conversion and the Waratahs lead. 

26.00: The Waratahs are awarded a penalty. Beale takes the kick and nails it from about 46m out. 

29.00: Penalty to the Rebels. Mike Harris will take the kick. He misses 

31.00: Tatafu Polota-Nau goes down in a big tackle from  Lopeti Timani. Polota-Nau comes off for a concussion check as the Waratahs take a penalty kick. Foley slots it and extends the lead. 

34.00: Penalty to the Waratahs at the breakdown. They kick for touch. 

36.00: The Waratahs go through the phases on attack but they lose the ball. The Rebels get the ball and press the Waratahs back to their 5m line. They knock on. 

38.00: The Waratahs win the scrum and get the ball to the half way line. The Rebels get the ball and go on the attack. Tamati Ellison almost gets through but then there is a knock on again and the Waratahs will have a scrum. 

40.00: The Waratahs put the ball into the scrum but the Rebels come away with it as it is a mess They snipe for the line and Lopeti Timani dives over. We go to the TMO to check the grounding. The TRY is awarded. 

41.00: Harris adds the conversion.

It’s half time. 

The half time score was Rebels 14 Waratahs 16

Bernard Foley kicks off and we are underway with the second half. 

Kurtley Beale makes a break against his former team but gets caught. The ball is taken into touch by the Rebels. 

42.00: The Waratahs win a line out and after a couple of recycles Taqele Naiyaravoro busts through two tackles and scores TRY! 

43.00: Foley takes the conversion kick and nails it. 

48.00:  The Waratahs concede a penalty for early engaging at the scrum. The Rebels kick for touch. They win the line out and attack through the backs. 

50.00: The Rebels power their way towards the tryline pushing the Waratahs backwards. The pressure pays off as they win a penalty. They choose the scrum. 

51.00: Mitch Inman bursts away to the line but is held up as he goes over. 

52.00: The Rebels drive over the line again. Luke Burgess comes up looking confident but we go to the TMO. The TRY is awarded. 

54.00: Harris adds the conversion. 

56.00: Referee Angus Gardner has a word with both teams about the scrums. The Rebels are then awarded a penalty for collapsing the scrum. They kick for touch. 

58.00: The Waratahs get over the gain line and get the Rebels on the backfoot. The Tahs roll forward and Beale passes out to Rob Horne who is tackled but slides over the line. We go to the TMO to check if he grounded the ball. No try – held up. 

60.00: The Waratahs continue to atatck the Rebels line and they go wide. Potgieter slips a ball out in the tackle to Naiyaravoro who goes over in the corner. TRY! 

62.00: Foley curls the conversion and misses. 

63.00: The Rebels attack down the touchline and Naiyaravoro knocks the ball back into touch after a chase so he is yellow carded. Mike Harris is slammed to the ground in a tackle by Dave Dennis but nothing comes of it. The Rebels choose a scrum on the 5m line. 

64.00: Scrum penalty to the Rebels. They choose another 5m scrum. The Rebels win the scrum and attack down the line. Advantage to the Rebels. We play on. 

65.00: Mike Harris throws a long wide pass to the wing and Sefanaia Naivalu is there to take the ball and he scores. TRY! Bonus point TRY! That is the Rebels first four try bonus point against an Aussie side. 

66.00: Harris takes the conversion kick and nails it to level the scores. 

68.00: The Rebels are attacking with energy. They sense something here. Debreczeni passes the ball forward  so we have a scrum. Mike Harris comes off for a concussion test for the knock earlier. 

69.00: Scrum penalty to the Rebels. They will kick for posts. 

70.00: Debreczeni misses the penalty. 

72.00: The Waratahs win a rare scrum. Bernard Foley slips around the blindside and takes Beale with him and races for the line. He slips the pass to Beale who dives over in the corner. Bonus point TRY! 

74.00: Foley takes the conversion as Naiyaravoro comes back on. Foley nails it. 

76.00: The Waratahs attack down the touchline and Naiyaravoro is pushed into touch with a no arms tackle by Sefanaia Naivalu. No card but a penalty to the Waratahs. The Tahs will kick for posts. 

77.00: Foley sneaks the penalty in. 

78.00: The Rebels have a final chance to attack as they have a scrum in the Waratahs 22. 

The Waratahs come away with the ball and wind down the clock. Foley boots it into touch. 

The full time score is Rebels 28 (14) Waratahs 38(16)


Tries – S.Higginbotham, L.Timani, L.Burgess, S.Naivalu
Pen –
Con – M.Harris 4
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – S.Hoiles, Ta. Naiyaravoro 2, K.Beale
Pen – B.Foley 3, K.Beale
Con – B.Foley 3
Drop –
Cards -T.Naiyaravoro (62nd min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1:James Leckie
Assistant Ref 2:Michael Hogan
TMO : Peter Marshall



1. Toby Smith ,2. Pat Leafa ,3. Laurie Weeks ,4. Luke Jones ,5. Lopeti Timani ,6. Sean McMahon ,7. Colby Fainga’a ,8. Scott Higginbotham ,9. Luke Burgess ,10. Jack Debreczeni ,11. Tom English ,12. Mitch Inman ,13. Tamati Ellison ,14. Dom Shipperley ,15. Mike Harris

Replacements :16. Ben Whittaker ,17. Cruze Ah-Nau ,18. Paul Alo-Emile ,19. Sam Jeffries ,20. Scott Fuglistaller ,21. Ben Meehan ,22. Bryce Hegarty ,23. Sefanaia Naivalu

* Denotes Rebels debut


1 Benn Robinson , 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau , 3 Sekope Kepu , 4 David Dennis (C) , 5 Will Skelton , 6 Jaques Potgieter , 7 Michael Hooper (VC) , 8 Stephen Hoiles    , 9 Nick Phipps , 10Bernard Foley , 11 Rob Horne , 12 Kurtley Beale , 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper (VC) , 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro , 15 Israel Folau

Replacements: Tolu Latu, Jeremy Tilse, Paddy Ryan, Sam Lousi, Mitchell Chapman, Pat McCutcheon, Brendan McKibbin, Peter Betham

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.