Chiefs beat Brumbies in New Plymouth

 The second round in Super Rugby kicks off on Friday with a re-match of the 2013 Super Rugby Grand final between the Chiefs and the Brumbies.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Aaron Cruden kicks off and we are underway. 

1.00: The Brumbies make a strong start showing good continuity and pressing the Chiefs back at pace. 

2.00: The Brumbies play a quick game going through the phases. Nic White tries a grubber but the ball bounces off a player and remains in play until Matt Toomua chips for the corner and the ball goes into touch. We go back for a penalty. 

3.00: Christian Lealiifano takes the penalty kick and nails it. 

6.00: The Chiefs win a penalty back so Aaron Cruden takes the shot and nails it to level the scores.  

7.00;  Tevita Koloamatangi who was a late replacement for Sam Cane has been replaced by Sean Polwart.

9.00: The Brumbies put the pressure back on in the Chiefs 22. They get to the 5m line but get pressed back and concede a penalty. 

11.00; The Chiefs take the line out option and attack the Brumbies. They knock on so the Brumbies have a scrum on the half way line. 

12.00: The Brumbies win a penalty on the half way line from the scrum so they will kick for posts. 

13.00: Nic White takes the shot and nails it. 

14.00: From the restart the Chiefs get numbers out wide and Charlie Ngatai shoves off one tackler and slips past another two as he slices through the Brumbies defence and runs in to score the opening TRY! 

15.00: Aaron Cruden adds the conversion. The Chiefs lead. 

17.00: The Brumbies look to hit straight back as they get the ball into the Chiefs 22. They go wide but the ball goes into touch. We go back to a Brumbies penalty. 

19.00: The Brumbies work the ball over the line and a mass of bodies go over and a TRY is awarded. Who scored is hard to say but it could be Scott Sio. 

20.00: Lealiifano takes the conversion from the touchline but misses. Brumbies lead. 

23.00: The Chiefs fire straight back. They win a line out and drive over the line. Referee Steve Walsh say they have been held up but they get a 5m scrum. The Brumbies win a free kick so they kick for touch. 

24.00: The Brumbies fail to find touch, the ball remains in play and the ball comes back to the Chiefs who kick wide, Maama Vaipulu grabs the ball and goes over but he loses the ball in the tackle as he goes over. The TMO checks but it’s not a try. Brumbies 5 scrum. The officials say that Ita Vaea was the Brumbies try scorer so we have updated that. 

29.00; The Brumbies survive a spell of attack from the Chiefs by turning the ball over and White kicks for touch. He fails to find it and after another spell of attack Ngatai kicks the ball into touch. Chiefs look dangerous. 

31.00: The Chiefs win a penalty so Cruden takes the kick and nails it putting the Chiefs back into the lead. 

35.00: Penalty to the Brumbies. 

37.00: Nic White takes the kick but it hits the post and bounces out. The Chiefs kick it into touch. 

38.00: The Brumbies win the line out but then knock on. Chiefs scrum. 

39.00: The Chiefs win the scrum and hold the ball inside the scrum for a while and then pass it out. The ball goes to ground but the Chiefs maintain control of it. 

40.00: The Chiefs knock on in their attack and it’s half time. 

The half time score was Chiefs 13 Brumbies 11

Matt Toomua kicks off and the second half is underway. 

43.00: The Brumbies win an early penalty so Lealiifano takes the kick and nails it. The Brumbies lead. 

46.00; The Chiefs are using a different attack in the second half. The Brumbies are being pinned back in their half. 

48.00: The Brumbies win the ball and go through a couple of phases on attack but then the ball is turned over. It gets chipped ahead but the Brumbies regather and eventually they knock on. 

51.00: The Brumbies use the maul up the side of the field and it wins them a penalty. White kicks for touch. 

54.00: The Brumbies win a penalty from the scrum. They kick for touch and set up a line out about 15m out. 

55.00: The Brumbies win the line out but the ball goes to ground and the Chiefs will get the put in at a scrum. 

56.00: The Brumbies win another penalty from the scrum. They will kick for posts. 

57.00: Lealiifano slots the penalty to extend the lead to four points. 

60.00: The Chiefs and the Brumbies both enjoy some short spells in attack. The Brumbies try to attack down the wing as Joe Tomane tries a chip and chase but he is evntually taken into touch. 

62.00: The Chiefs win the line out and kick for touch. The ball goes into touch and the Brumbies decide against taking the quick throw. They go for the full line out which they win and work the ball to the half way line. 

66.00: The Chiefs win a penalty from the scrum. Cruden will kick for posts. Damien McKenzie warms up on the sideline so Cruden will probably be replaced after the kick which is 41m out. 

67.00: Cruden takes the kick and nails it. The Brumbies lead by one point. McKenzie comes on as does Augustine Pulu. 

71.00: The Brumbies set up a line out and their attack just outside the Chiefs 22. They do however knock on. 

74.00; The Chiefs have shuffled their backline. Cruden is on the wing and McKenzie at 10. The Chiefs win the scrum at attack from inside their half. 

75.00: The Brumbies are caught offside so the Chiefs have a penalty. They take it quickly. It’s all attack from the Chiefs. 

76.00: The Chiefs almost get the match winner as Cruden kicks for the corner and Seta Tamanivalu chases but the ball goes into touch. Brumbies get the line out put in. 

77.00: The Brumbies knock on 5m out from their tryline. The Chiefs effectively get a 5m scrum. 

78.00: The scrum has to be reset. 

79.00: The Chiefs win the scrum but it is scrappy. They get a penalty. Cruden will have to kick to win the match. 

80.00: Aaron Cruden takes the penalty kick and he nails it. 

That’s it. The Chiefs win. 

The full time score is Chiefs 19 (13) Brumbies 17 (11)


Tries – C. Ngatai
Pen – A.Cruden 4
Con – A.Cruden
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – I.Vaea
Pen – C.Lealiifano 3,  N.White
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Steve Walsh
Assistant Ref 1:Shane McDermott
Assistant Ref 2:Paul Williams
TMO : Glen Newman



1. Jamie Mackintosh , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Siate Tokolahi , 4. Matt Symons , 5. Michael Fitzgerald , 6. Liam Messam (c) , 7. Tevita Koloamatangi  , 8. Maama Vaipulu , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden , 11. Hosea Gear* , 12. Sonny Bill Williams , 13. Charlie Ngatai , 14. Bryce Heem , 15. James Lowe

Replacements : 16. Quentin MacDonald* , 17. Pauliasi Manu , 18. Ben Tameifuna , 19. Brodie Retallick , 20. Sean Polwart , 21. Augustine Pulu , 22. Damian McKenzie , 23. Seta Tamanivalu**

*Chiefs debutants
**Super Rugby Debut


1. Scott Sio , 2. Josh Mann-Rea , 3. Ben Alexander , 4. Rory Arnold , 5. Sam Carter , 6. Scott Fardy , 7. Jarrad Butler , 8. Ita Vaea , 9. Nic White(c) , 10. Matt Toomua , 11. Henry Speight , 12. Christian Lealiifano , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Joe Tomane , 15. Robbie Coleman

Replacements :16. Stephen Moore , 17. JP Smith , 18. Ruan Smith , 19. Jordan Smiler , 20. Sean Doyle , 21. Michael Dowsett , 22. James Dargaville , 23. Lausii Taliauli

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.