Scotland make two forced changes for Wales

Scotland head coach Vern Cotter has made two enforced changes to his starting team to face Wales at Murrayfield on Sunday.

Glasgow Warriors wing Sean Lamont – the most capped player in Scotland’s Six Nations squad with 91 appearances – has made a timely return from the calf injury that ruled him out of the nation’s opening championship match against France, as a direct replacement for club-mate Tommy Seymour, who has not yet recovered fully from the hip injury sustained in Paris.

The second change sees London Irish tight-head prop Geoff Cross promoted from the bench in place of Euan Murray, who is unavailable on the Sabbath due to his religious beliefs, with Jon Welsh taking the substitute spot vacated by Cross.

Lamont’s inclusion brings a further two changes to the bench, with Edinburgh Rugby duo Greig Tonks – his first call-up since his positional switch and solitary outing at full-back in 2013 – and 21-times capped centre Matt Scott who, through injury, hasn’t featured for his country since the corresponding fixture last year, both coming into the squad at the expense of Peter Horne and Dougie Fife respectively.

Cotter said: “Last weekend’s performance, in terms of line-breaks and heart, was encouraging. We defended well and our lineout, scrum and defence stood up to a very stern French assessment.

“I’m pleased we were in a situation to contest the match throughout, but we left the paddock very frustrated and disappointed that we didn’t get more from the game – and I think that’s a good measure of this squad.

“There’s a huge amount of determination in this group to improve, with the challenge now to go one step further and deliver a winning performance for our home fans at a full BT Murrayfield.”

He continued: “The boys love playing at home.

“The fans were outstanding throughout the autumn and we’re looking forward to getting back out there, pulling on the jersey, rolling up our sleeves and having a good crack at a powerful Welsh side.”

Scotland 15-1

Stuart Hogg; Sean Lamont, Mark Bennett, Alex Dunbar, Tim Visser; Finn Russell, Greig Laidlaw (capt); Johnnie Beattie, Blair Cowan, Rob Harley; Jonny Gray, Richie Gray; Geoff Cross, Ross Ford, Alasdair Dickinson

Replacements: Fraser Brown, Gordon Reid, Jon Welsh, Jim Hamilton, Alasdair Strokosch, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Greig Tonks, Matt Scott

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.