Pocock to captain Brumbies against the Reds

Canberra Super Rugby franchise the Brumbies have named a team to play the Reds on Friday with three Super Rugby debutants in the 23-man squad.

Rory Arnold (lock), James Dargaville (wing, bench) and Lausii Taliauli (outside backs, bench) have all registered selections.

David Pocock will captain the starting team and regular club captain Stephen Moore will ease back into Super Rugby having been named on the replacements bench with Ita Vaea.

Pocock and Moore’s high-profile injury lay-offs due to knee reconstructions are over, while Vaea’s two-year battle with a heart condition has also been put to bed.

“Firstly with our Captain David Pocock, we’re pleased to see him back on the field after battling succesive knee injuries. I’m looking forward to his performance tomorrow,” Head Coach Stephen Larkham said.

“We’ve got three players debutising tonight, starting with our 2 metre and 8cm lock, Rory Arnold, who becomes the tallest player in Super Rugby history.

On the bench Lausii Taliauli and James Dargavilel have also impressed me. James comes from Sydney Uni and Lausii from the Aussie Sevens.

“Also on the bench is our Club Captain, Stephen Moore, who is going to feature for us in the second half. He’ll definitely get 20 or 30 minutes in the second half.

“One of the best stories coming out of this team is the return of It Vaea. He was pretty much retired this time two years ago, but he’s pushed through and everyone at the Brumbies is excited to see him back.”

Of the last eight times these teams have faced each other the home side has only won on two occasions – the Reds in 2012 and the Brumbies in 2013. Last year’s season opener went to the Reds and the Brumbies will be fighting hard to get their year off to a better start.


1. Scott Sio , 2. Josh Mann-Rea , 3. Ben Alexander , 4. Rory Arnold , 5. Sam Carter , 6. Scott Fardy , 7. David Pocock (c) , 8. Jarrad Butler , 9. Nic White (vc) , 10. Matt Toomua , 11. Joe Tomane , 12. Christian Lealiifano , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Henry Speight , 15. Robbie Coleman

Replacements : 16. Stephen Moore , 17. JP Smith , 18. Ruan Smith , 19. Jordan Smiler , 20. Ita Vaea , 21. Michael Dowsett , 22. James Dargaville , 23. Lausii Taliauli

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.