Pietersen starts at 10 for Cheetahs against Sharks

Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has named his team to play the Sharks this weekend with former Stormers fullback Joe Petersen at flyhalf.

Pietersen returned to South Africa from French club Biarritz last year and has replaced Johan Goosen who left to play in France for Racing Metro.

The team will be captained by Francois Uys and the vice captain Sarel Pretorius starts alongside Pietersen.

Former Lions forward Willie Britz completes his move from the Johannesburg franchise and starts at No.8.

Another former rival in Clayton Blommetjies who was with the Bulls starts on the wing making up the back three of Willie le Roux and Raymond Rhule.

This will be the 14th Super Rugby encounter between the two teams. The Sharks are leading with eight wins to the five. It will also be the eight time the teams meet in Kings Park, Durban. Out of the seven pervious matches, the Cheetahs won three.

In 2014 on both occasions the home side won the match on the day.


15 Willie le Roux, 14 Clayton Blommetjies, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Joe Petersen, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Jean Cook, 5 Francois Uys (c), 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Danie Minnie

Replacements: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 BG Uys, 18 Maks van Dyk, 19 Carl Wegner, 20 Boom Prinsloo, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Willie du Plessis, 23 Cornal Hendricks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.