Five try Western Force beat Brumbies in trial

Perth based Super Rugby side the Force started their Super Rugby pre-season with a 31-21 victory over the Brumbies at the McGillivray Oval on Friday.

Former Western Force captain David Pocock made his long awaited to playing rugby in the match and even managed to score a try for the Brumbies off a rolling maul.

The Western Force scored three tries in the first half of the trial match and then in the second half Wilhelm Steenkamp and new recruit Mitch Scott added tries.

In the first half Tom Staniforth of the Brumbies was sent to the sin bin while Steenkamp of the Force was yellow carded near the end of the trial match.

Canberra Super Rugby side the Brumbies scored two second half tries through Wallabies back Christian Leali’ifano and hooker Josh Mann-Rea who went over on full time.

The Brumbies start their Super Rugby season at home with a match against the Reds on the 13th of February.

The Force start their Super Rugby season against current champions the Waratahs on Sunday the 15th of February in Sydney.

Final Score Western Force 31 (17) Brumbies 21 (7)


Tries : Luke Morahan, Chris Alcock, Marcel Brache, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Mitch Scott
Pen :
Con : Robert Ebersohn, Zac Holmes 2
Drop :

Tries : David Pocock, Christian Leali’ifano, Josh Mann-Rea
Pen :
Con : Rod Iona 3
Drop :



Prop: Pek Cowan, Tetera Faulkner, Oliver Hoskins, Francois van Wyk
Hooker: Robbie Abel, Nathan Charles, Heath Tessmann
Lock: Adam Coleman, Steve Mafi, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Rory Walton, Sam Wykes
Back row: Chris Alcock, Angus Cottrell, Ross Haylett-Petty, Kane Koteka, Brynard Stander
Scrumhalf: Alby Mathewson, Ian Prior
Flyhalf: Sias Ebersohn, Zack Holmes
Wing: Marcel Brache, Brad Lacey, Luke Morahan, Mitchell Scott
Centre: Luke Burton, Kyle Godwin, Ammon Matuauto, Solomoni Rasolea
Fullback: Patrick Dellit, Dane Haylett-Petty

Brumbies touring squad:

Nigel Ah Wong, Allan Alaalatoa, Rory Arnold, Fotu Auelua, Jarrad Butler, Robbie Coleman, James Dargaville, Michael Dowsett, Sean Doyle, Blake Enever, Rod Iona, Jerome Niumata, Christian Lealiifano, Josh Mann-Rea, David Pocock, Scott Sio, Jordan Smiler, Jean-Pierre Smith, Ruan Smith, Henry Speight, Tom Staniforth, Joe Tomane, Matt Toomua, Mitch Wade, Nic White.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.