Pocock returns for Brumbies in Super Rugby trial

Canberra Super Rugby franchise the Brumbies have named a squad featuring eight Wallabies including David Pocock to play the Force in a Super Rugby warm up match in Perth.

In the backs the likes of Matt Toomua, Nic White, Christian Lealiifano, Joe Tomane and Henry Speight will all feature, while 2014 top-try scorer Robbie Coleman will also travel west for the game.

2014 Brett Robinson Players’ Player, Jarrad Butler, fronts a strong pack of Brumbies forwards, including Pocock, who has been named for the first time since February last year when he suffered a ruptured ACL.

Scott Sio also returns from injury, with Josh Mann-Rea another Wallaby making the journey to represent the Brumbies.

On state debut for the Brumbies are Nigel Ah Wong, Rory Arnold, James Dargaville, Sean Doyle, Blake Enever, Jerome Niumata and Mitch Wade.

Head Coach Stephen Larkham said it was important for his side to get their season off to a good start with a win on the road this Friday night.

“We are going to Perth to win this match, to put the wheels in motion and to get our season underway,” Larkham said.

“Last year the Force were the competition’s big improvers and they will be pretty eager to build on that, starting Friday night.

“We have seven new faces who haven’t worn the Brumbies strip before, so they’ll be excited to get out there and make it official. Adding to those guys are eight, internationally capped players and I think you’ll see a good mix of experience and enthusiasm out there on Friday night.

“Trials are a good chance for us to assess what we need to work on heading into the season and we see the Force as a quality opponent to have a crack at. It should be quite an entertaining game.”

Playing away from their traditional home nib Stadium, the Force have moved the match to McGillivray Oval at Mt Claremont.

Force v Brumbies
McGillivray Oval, Mt Claremont
Kick-off: 5pm (8pm AEDT)

Brumbies touring squad:

Nigel Ah Wong, Allan Alaalatoa, Rory Arnold, Fotu Auelua, Jarrad Butler, Robbie Coleman, James Dargaville, Michael Dowsett, Sean Doyle, Blake Enever, Rod Iona, Jerome Niumata, Christian Lealiifano, Josh Mann-Rea, David Pocock, Scott Sio, Jordan Smiler, Jean-Pierre Smith, Ruan Smith, Henry Speight, Tom Staniforth, Joe Tomane, Matt Toomua, Mitch Wade, Nic White.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.