Gloucester upset Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park

Gloucester brought an end to Exeter Chiefs winning streak at home with a 25-26 in the Aviva Premiership at Sandy Park on Saturday.

The Chiefs started the match having won their last eight fixtures at Sandy Park in all tournaments since Leicester beat them there in Premiership Rugby on 13th September.

The result also brings an end to Gloucester’s two match losing streak as they lost at home to Bath and at home to Wasps.

Prior to this victory the Cherry and Whites only victory in the last six rounds of Aviva Premiership Rugby came when they visited London Irish on 30th November.

Gloucester have however enjoyed good form away from home as they have now won four out of their last five away games in all competitions.

From 0-6 at half-time, the second 40 minutes produced five tries as the game came to life, with only the width of a post costing Exeter the four points.

Gloucester won’t care about that though as they took their chances when they came, with centre Billy Twelvetrees’ long-range drop-goal proving critical.

Although Exeter created most of the try-scoring opportunities in the first-half, it was the Cherry and Whites who took their chances and went into the break 6-0 up through two Greig Laidlaw penalties.

It was a dour game of rugby in the opening period, but things improved markedly after the interval. Twelvetrees kicked a drop-goal for the visitors before three tries in as many minutes – the first two for the Chiefs’ Jack Nowell and Matt Jess and the third for the away side from Tom Savage – opened the match up.

Gareth Steenson then kicked two penalties to Laidlaw’s one as the Chiefs went into the lead as the match entered the final quarter, but Ben Morgan’s try secured the win for Gloucester, although Thomas Waldrom’s score gave Exeter a losing bonus-point.

The hosts started the season well, securing seven victories in their first nine games, but have struggled over the previous two weeks.

They had been overpowered by both Sale Sharks and Bath and were therefore looking to get back on track, but against a Gloucester side who were similarly low on confidence, the opening 40 minutes was a disappointing affair.

David Humphreys’ men played a more pragmatic game in comparison to the expansive home side, but it worked in the first half. Just three minutes had elapsed when the Chiefs infringed and Laidlaw kicked the Kingsholm-based outfit into a 3-0 advantage.

Rob Baxter’s team then persistently threatened for the next quarter of an hour as they looked to move ahead of the visitors. Nowell almost scored, Henry Slade showed touches of class and Phil Dollman also made metres with ball in hand, but the Cherry and Whites remained resilient and it was Laidlaw who extended their lead at the interval via his second three-pointer.

The second period initially began with the same pattern as the first when Twelvetrees kicked a drop-goal to take Gloucester 9-0 in front. However, Exeter finally scored the try their build-up play deserved as Nowell wriggled through several would-be tacklers to touch down.

An intercept try from Jess gave the hosts the advantage for the first time but a remarkable passage of play ended when another Chiefs’ mistake resulted in Savage crossing the whitewash.

Laidlaw and Steenson then traded penalties before the Irish fly-half added another from the tee to take Exeter ahead.

But the visitors weren’t finished and Morgan’s score secured a crucial win for Gloucester. The hosts had the chance to win it when Waldrom went over, but Steenson surprisingly missed the conversion.

Final Score Exeter Chiefs 25 (0) Gloucester 26 (6)


Exeter Chiefs
Tries – Nowell (2), Waldrom
Pen -Steenson (2)
Con – Steenson, Jess
Drop –

Tries – Savage, Morgan
Pen – Laidlaw (3)
Con – Laidlaw (2)
Drop – Twelvetrees

Match Officials
Tim Wigglesworth (92nd Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Roger Baileff and Peter Huckle.
TMO: David Grashoff.


Exter Chiefs

15 Phil Dollman 14 Jack Nowell 13 Henry Slade 12 Sam Hill 11 Matt Jess 10 Gareth Steenson 9 Will Chudley 1 Ben Moon 2 Jack Yeandle 3 Moray Low 4 Dean Mumm (capt) 5 Mitch Lees 6 Dave Ewers 7 Don Armand 8 Thomas Waldrom

Replacments : 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie 17 Carl Rimmer 18 Tomas Francis 19 Jerry Sexton 20 Ben White 21 Haydn Thomas 22 Ian Whitten 23 Byron McGuigan


Charlie Sharples; David Halaifonua, Mark Atkinson, Billy Twelvetrees (capt), Jonny May; James Hook, Greig Laidlaw; Nick Wood, Darren Dawidiuk, John Afoa; Tom Savage, Tom Palmer; Sione Kalamafoni, Matt Kvesic, Ben Morgan

Replacements:Aleki Lutui, Yann Thomas, Shaun Knight, Elliott Stooke, Gareth Evans, Dan Robson, Billy Burns, Bill Meakes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.