Bonus point Bath power past Exeter Chiefs

Bath remained unbeaten in the Aviva Premiership and moved to the top of the standings by beating Exeter Chiefs 31-14 at the Recreation Ground on Saturday.

While the victory moved Bath to the top of the standings they could be overtaken later in the day as Northampton Saints still have to play their match this round.

The hosts Bath headed into the game in excellent form, and were looking to build on last week’s win over Gloucester, while the Chiefs were looking to bounce back following last week’s reverse at Sale Sharks.

There was little between the teams for the majority of the game, but Bath were able to find a cutting edge at a pivotal moment in the match to seal the win. Exeter took the lead on 24 minutes, but the try they scored came against the run of play.

Dean Mumm pounced on the loose ball and found Matt Jess, who was able to race away for the game’s opening points. Gareth Steenson added the conversion.

But Bath found a devastating response and they were in front at half-time following tries from Kyle Eastmond and Horacio Agulla.

Good work from Eastmond put Agulla over, and Ford converted to level the scores, and then Eastmond was in support to finish after Chris Cook had made the break.

Ford was again on target with the conversion, but Exeter were level early in the second half when Jack Nowell latched on to Sam Hill’s kick.

Steenson converted, but again Bath roared back. Dave Attwood turned a dominant maul into a try, which Ford converted before adding a penalty to give the hosts a cushion.

Exeter looked for a way back into the contest, but Bath stood firm, before striking a killer blow three minutes from time, when Watson streamed over to secure the bonus point.

Final Score Bath 31 (14) Exeter Chiefs 14 (7)


Tries – Agulla, Eastmond, Attwood, Watson
Pen -Ford
Con – Ford (4)
Drop –

Exeter Chiefs
Tries – Jess, Nowell
Pen –
Con – Steenson (2)
Drop –

Match Officials
JP Doyle (87th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Paul Burton & Roger Baileff.
TMO: Geoff Warren.



15. Anthony Watson , 14. Horacio Agulla , 13. Jonathan Joseph , 12. Kyle Eastmond , 11. Matt Banahan , 10. George Ford , 9. Chris Cook , 1. Nick Auterac , 2. Rob Webber , 3. Henry Thomas , 4. Stuart Hooper ( c ) , 5. Dominic Day , 6. Matt Garvey , 7. Francois Louw , 8. Leroy Houston

Replacements : 16. Ross Batty , 17. Paul James , 18. David Wilson , 19. Dave Attwood , 20. Carl Fearns , 21. Sam Burgess , 22. Micky Young , 23. Ollie Devoto

Exeter Chiefs

15 Phil Dollman , 14 Jack Nowell , 13 Henry Slade , 12 Sam Hill , 11 Matt Jess , 10 Gareth Steenson , 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom , 7 Don Armand , 6 Dave Ewers , 5 Damian Welch, 4 Dean Mumm (capt) , 3 Moray Low , 2 Jack Yeandle , 1 Ben Moon

Replacements : 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie , 17 Carl Rimmer , 18 Tomas Francis , 19 Mitch Lees , 20 Kai Horstmann , 21 Haydn Thomas , 22 Ian Whitten , 23 Fetu’u Vainikolo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.