Newcastle v Sale Sharks Premiership Preview

Newcastle Falcons host Leicester Tigers at Kingston Park

Newcastle Falcons have named a team with one change to the starting XV for Sunday’s Aviva Premiership Rugby at Kingston Park against Sale Sharks.

Dean Richards Falcons side are on something of a streak at home and this weekend they will be looking to make it three league wins in a row at home.

The change comes at Hooker where George McGuigan comes in for Scott Lawson, while the rest of the starting team who earned last week’s 20 – 10 victory over Gloucester Rugby have a chance to continue the clubs excellent league form, which has seen them win three out of the last four games.

The settled selection sees Alex Tait at Fullback, Samoan duo Sinoti Sinoti and Alesana Tuilagi line up on the wings and Argentine pairing Gonzalo Tiesi and Juan Pablo Socino fill the centre berths.

Mike Blair and Rory Clegg will once again control the link between forwards and backs at Scrum Half and Fly Half respectively while the front row is completed by Rob Vickers and Oliver Tomaszczyk pack down alongside the incoming McGuigan.

The reliable partnership between Calum Green and Dominic Barrow continues in the second row with the forwards rounding out with Mark Wilson and Andy Saull on the flanks and Ally Hogg captaining the side from number 8.

The bench see Alex Rogers, Eric Fry and Scott Wilson provide front row cover, with returning international pair Josh Furno and Kane Thompson also primed to enter the fray.

Warren Fury offers cover for the scrum half jersey while Adam Powell and Simon Hammersley provide the back line replacement options.

Speaking ahead of the final team run, director of rugby Dean Richards said: “It is good that we can select virtually the same side as last week and look to build on the positive mood that result and the support of the crowd brought.”

“There were a lot of people stood up last week and made sure of the result against Gloucester and I am expecting the same this week against Sale.”

“The Sharks will travel to Kingston Park on Sunday on a high themselves after beating Quins away last week and that result gives us a very timely reminder that they are not a side that can be taken lightly.”

In terms of form, Newcastle Falcons have won three of their last four Aviva Premiership Rugby matches, the loss being at Bath in Round 7.

The Falcons have won back-to-back Premiership Rugby encounters at Kinston Park, but have not won three in succession at the venue in the tournament since March 2009.

Sale Sharks have also won three of their last four Aviva Premiership Rugby matches, the defeat being at Northampton in round 6.

The Sharks won their most recent away game in the tournament, at Harlequins, and are attempting to win consecutive fixtures on the road for the first time since April.

Sale’s 16-8 victory in this equivalent fixture last season ended a three games losing streak to the Falcons in all tournaments.

Sale are attempting to win back-to-back matches at Kinston Park for the first time in their history.

Sale Sharks Director of Rugby Steve Diamond has named his team for this week with Mark Cueto returning to the starting line up.

Michael Paterson (knee) and David Seymour (shoulder) both miss out but on the plus side Cueto returns to the starting line up for the first time since the opening game of the season, although he did play as a substitute in the home win over Wasps.

Chris Cusiter, Luke McLean, Johnny Leota and Alberto de Marchi also return to the side following international duties.

Match : Newcastle Falcons v Sale Sharks
Date : Sunday 30th November
Venue : Kingston Park,
Kick Off : 3.15pm
Live on: BT Sport
Match Officials
: Dean Richards (75th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Jonathan Healy and Ross Campbell.
TMO: Keith Lewis.


Newcastle Falcons

15 Alex Tait, 14 Sinoti Sinoti, 13 Gonzalo Tiesi, 12 Juan Pablo Socino, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Rory Clegg, 9 Mike Blair ,8 Ally Hogg,7 Andy Saull ,6 Mark Wilson , 5 Dom Barrow , 4 Calum Green , 3 Oliver Tomaszczyk,2 George McGuigan,1 Rob Vickers

Replacements:16 Alex Rogers, 17 Eric Fry, 18 Scott Wilson, 19 Kane Thompson, 20 Josh Furno, 21 Warren Fury, 22 Adam Powell, 23 Simon Hammersley

Sale Sharks

Mike Haley, Luke McLean, Johnny Leota, Sammy Tuitupou, Mark Cueto, Danny Cipriani, Chris Cusiter, Eifion Lewis Roberts, Marc Jones, Vadim Cobilas, Jonathan Mills, Andrei Ostrikov, Dan Braid (Captain), Magnus Lund, Josh Beaumont

Replacements : Shalva Mamukashvili, Alberto de Marchi,Ross Harrison, Mark Easter, Viliami Fihaki, Will Cliff, Nick Macleod, Mark Jennings

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.