Farrell benched, Twelvetrees at 12 for England

England head coach Stuart Lancaster has named Billy Twelvetrees to start at centre and George Ford to start at flyhalf against Australia at Twickenham on Saturday.

Gloucester Twelvtrees has pushed Owen Farrell out of the starting team and will make his first start of the 2014 Autumn Internationals.

Twelvetrees started every game in last season’s Six Nations campaign when he played alongside Saracen Owen Farrell.

Up front, Northampton Saints pair Tom Wood and Dylan Hartley take over from James Haskell (Wasps) and Rob Webber (Bath Rugby) at blindside flanker and hooker respectively.

Despite those changes to the run-on side, the same match-day 23 who beat Samoa 28-9 last weekend will be on duty as England look to secure a 10th victory in 13 Twickenham Tests.

Reviewing his selection, Head Coach Stuart Lancaster praised Twelvetrees for his committed self-development over the current campaign.

“It’s good to be able to give Billy his first start of the series,” he said.

“He took on board the feedback we gave him when he first came into camp and he has worked hard both with us and at Gloucester and deserves his chance.

“Owen is a key part of our squad and will offer a huge amount from the bench.”

While Haskell and Webber should also bring dynamism and know-how when called upon, Lancaster suggested that both Hartley and Wood were eager to make an impact from the very start of a high-stakes meeting with Michael Cheika’s Wallabies.

“The Samoa game gave us the opportunity to give James and Rob a start and they made a good contribution. Tom and Dylan were disappointed not to be in the XV against Samoa.

“They are desperate to go out and perform on Saturday to help us finish the series on a high.”


15. Mike Brown , 14. Anthony Watson , 13. Brad Barritt , 12. Billy Twelvetrees , 11. Jonny May , 10. George Ford , 9. Ben Youngs , 8. Ben Morgan , 7. Chris Robshaw , 6. Tom Wood , 5. Courtney Lawes , 4. Dave Attwood , 3. David Wilson, 2. Dylan Hartley ,1. Joe Marler

Replacements : 16. Rob Webber , 17. Matt Mullan , 18. Kieran Brookes , 19. George Kruis , 20. James Haskell , 21. Richard Wigglesworth , 22. Owen Farrell , 23. Marland Yarde

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.