South Africa make eight changes for Wales

South Africa head coach Heyneke Meyer has named a team with eight changes for this weekend’s Test against Wales at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

Meyer has brought back Willie le Roux, Tendai Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis, Cornal Hendricks and Lwazi Mvovo to the Springbok starting line-up.

The changes in the back three were required because Johan Goosen, Bryan Habana and JP Pietersen, who started in last weekend’s victory over Italy in Padova, are not available this week while the two changes to the front row are rotational.

Adriaan Strauss, who started at hooker in the victories over England and Italy, moves to the bench, where he will be joined by Trevor Nyakane and Damian de Allende in the only other changes to the match-23.

“This tour has been a good test of our depth and we’re looking forward to see what the team can do on Saturday,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

“We will face a fired-up Welsh side this weekend. They played very well against New Zealand and it will be a tough end to our season, but we want to finish on a high and the focus this week has been on ensuring we keep on building on what we’ve done thus far this year.

“All the players coming into the team have been part of our squad for most of the season. They know our plans and structures and now it’s about execution on Saturday.”

Injuries and the non-availability of overseas-based players for matches outside the Test window have meant that only three players, Le Roux, Du Plessis and Duane Vermeulen, have played in all 12 Tests for the Springboks in 2014.

In 2013, a total of 10 players featured in each of the 12 Tests. Le Roux is the only player who has played in every Springbok encounter over the last two seasons, while Du Plessis has missed only one match.

It has also been confirmed today that scrumhalf Rudy Paige has picked up a medial knee ligament injury during training on Tuesday which will rule him out of action for approximately three to four weeks.

A replacement for Paige in the Springboks’ touring squad will be named at a later stage.

South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks , 13 Jan Serfontein , 12 Jean de Villiers (c) , 11 Lwazi Mvovo , 10 Pat Lambie , 9 Cobus Reinach , 8 Duane Vermeulen , 7 Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje , 6 Marcell Coetzee , 5 Victor Matfield (vc) , 4 Eben Etzebeth , 3 Coenie Oosthuizen , 2 Bismarck du Plessis , 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements : 16 Adriaan Strauss , 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Julian Redelinghuys , 19 Lood de Jager , 20 Nizaam Carr , 21 Francois Hougaard , 22 Handré Pollard , 23 Damian de Allende

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.