Exeter Chiefs stun Northampton to go second

Exeter Chiefs stunned Northampton Saints with an 18-24 Aviva Premiership victory at Franklins Gardens to move up to second place in the standings.

Former England No.8 Thomas Waldrom scored a brace of tries for the visiting Chiefs who had not won away from home since they visited Gloucester in round 3 of the Premiership season.

Victory moves the Chiefs two points behind the Saints, as they replace Saracens
in second spot. Sarries travel to Leicester on Sunday.

It took Exeter just two minutes to cross the whitewash as hooker Luke Cowan-Dickie
went over, with Gareth Steenson kicking the extras.

Stephen Myler responded from the tee a minute later and again in the fourteenth
minute to make it 6-7 but then a try double from Waldrom before the break sent
the Chiefs in 21-6 in front.

Steenson landed a penalty in the 54th minute before Tom Stephenson and Jamie
Elliott put Saints within six points at 24-18, which was how it stayed until

Final Score Northampton 18 (6) Exeter (21) 24


Northampton Saints
Tries – Stephenson, Elliott
Pen – Myler 2
Con – Myler
Drop –

Exeter Chiefs
Tries – Cowan-Dickie, Waldrom 2
Pen – Steenson 3
Con – Steenson
Drop –

Match Officials
: Dean Richards (73rd Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Ross Campbell and Gordon Goodliffe.
TMO: Rowan Kitt.


Northampton Saints

15 Ben Foden, 14 Jamie Elliott, 13 Tom Stephenson, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 Tom Collins, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Lee Dickson, 8 Phil Dowson (c), 7 Ben Nutley, 6 Calum Clark, 5 Christian Day, 4 Samu Manoa, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Mike Haywood, 1 Alex Waller.

Replacements: 16 Ross McMillan, 17 Ethan Waller, 18 Gareth Denman, 19 Alex Woolford, 20 Teimana Harrison, 21 Joel Hodgson, 22 James Wilson, 23 Dom Waldouck.

Exeter Chiefs

15 Phil Dollman, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Sam Hill, 11 Matt Jess, 10 Gareth Steenson, 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Don Armand, 6 Ben White, 5 Damian Welch, 4 Dean Mumm (capt), 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Jack Yeandle,1 Carl Rimmer

Replacements : 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Ben Moon, 18 Moray Low, 19 Ryan Caldwell, 20 Kai Horstmann, 21 Haydn Thomas, 22 Ian Whitten, 23 Byron McGuigan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.