Australia too strong for Wales again

Wales vs Australia gave Wales their 21st consecutive defeat to a Southern Hemisphere team with a 28-33 victory at Cardiff’s Millennium Stadium on Saturday.

The loss for Wales is their tenth loss in a row to Australia as they have not beaten the Wallabies since 2009.

With the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge watching from the stands, after a commemoration
for those who lost their lives in World War 1, Rhys Webb rose from nowhere to
give the home side a 5-0 lead.

Leigh Halfpenny was on hand to convert giving the home fans a perfect start
to the afternoon.

But that lead was cut short nine minutes later when Hooper made a break before
setting up Israel Folau for a try. Bernard Foley converted.

Wales were hardly given any breathing space as Folau added another 5 to his
tally after picking up Webb’s pass before darting for 80 meters and scoring.
Foley easily converted.

But Wales immediately responded with a two to one situation that saw George
North sending Alex Cuthbert over for a try. Halfpenny levelled matters 14-14.

The game beautifully flowed before golden boy Tevita Kuridrani barged through
Alan-Wyn Jones’ tackle to go under the posts. Foley made it three conversions
out of three.

Jones burrowed over the try line for the Welsh just after the siren and Biggar
converted to take both sides to the break levelled at 21-21.

The first break of the second half saw Ashley-Cooper winning a penalty for
the Wallabies and they led by three courtesy of a Foley penalty kick.

Foley went on to make it 21-27 in the 56th minute with another penalty of his

Wales hit back and were duly rewarded with a penalty try nine minutes later.
Priestland converted.

After failing to get past the Welsh, Foley scored a drop goal to hand the
Wallabies a 28-30 lead.

Foley added another three points with his third penalty of the day.

Final Score Wales (21) 28 Australia (21) 33


Tries – Webb, Cuthbert, Jones, penalty;
Pen –
Con – Halfpenny (2), Biggar, Priestland
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Folau (2), Kuridrani;
Pen – Foley (3)
Con – Foley (3)
Drop – Foley
Cards –

Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)


Leigh Halfpenny; Alex Cuthbert, George North, Jamie Roberts, Liam Williams; Dan Biggar, Rhys Webb; Taulupe Faletau, Sam Warburton (capt), Dan Lydiate; Alun Wyn Jones, Jake Ball; Samson Lee, Richard Hibbard, Paul James

Replacements: Scott Baldwin, Gethin Jenkins, Rhodri Jones, Bradley Davies, Justin Tipuric, Mike Phillips, Rhys Priestland, Cory Allen


Israel Folau; Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tevita Kuridrani, Christian Leali’ifano, Joe Tomane; Bernard Foley, Nick Phipps; Ben McCalman, Michael Hooper (capt), Sean McMahon; Rob Simmons, Sam Carter; Sekope Kepu, Saia Fainga’a, James Slipper

Replacements: James Hanson, Tetera Kaulkner, Ben Alexander, James Horwill, Will Skelton, Matt Hodgson, Will Genia, Rob Horne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.