Harlequins beat Dragons in Anglo Welsh LV= Cup

Sam Twomey has re-signed with Harlequins

Harlequins secured their first Anglo Welsh LV= Cup victory this season when they beat Newport Gwent Dragons 31-21 at the Twickenham Stoop on Friday.

Harlequins didn’t have it all their own way but eventually they had enough
to see off the Dragons thanks to a double from James Chisholm.

After naming an all-English qualified 23, Quins took an early lead through
winger Ollie Lindsay-Hague.

Tim Swiel, playing his first game for the club since signing a short-term deal
from the Sharks, missed the conversion and the Dragons hit back with two tries
in quick succession.

Jon Evans and James Thomas were the scorers, with Dorian Jones converting the
second, to put his team into a 12-5 lead.

Swiel notched his first points of the evening soon after but when Jones slotted
three penalties in the last ten minutes of the first-half, it looked as if the
Dragons might run away with it.

Trailing 21-8, Quins needed a reaction and they got it from number eight Chisholm,
who went over seven minutes into the second half.

Swiel had already slotted his second penalty, and added a drop goal to cut
the lead to three.

Two more penalties from the South African-born fly-half put Quins back in front,
before Chisholm went over for his second try 11 minutes from time.

Swiel converted to bring his own tally to 16 for the evening and from there
the Dragons had no answer.

Final Score Harlequins 31 (8) Newport Gwent Dragons 21 (21)


Tries – Lindsay-Haugue, Chisholm (2)
Pen -Swiel (4)
Con – Swiel (2)
Drop –

Newport Gwent Dragons
Tries – Evans, Thomas
Pen – Jones (3)
Con – Jones
Drop –

Match Officials
Greg Macdonald (England)
Assistant referees: Kelvin Stewart (England), Roy Maybank (England)
Timekeeper: Roy Marfleet (England)
Assessor: Gary Welsh (England)



15 Ross Chisholm, 14 Charlie Walker, 13 Matt Hopper, 12 Jordan Turner-Hall, 11 Ollie Lindsay-Hague, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Karl Dickson (c), 8 James Chisholm, 7 Jack Clifford, 6 Joe Trayfoot, 5 Sam Twomey, 4 Charlie Matthews, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Rob Buchanan, 1 Mark Lambert.

Replacements: 16 Dave Ward, 17 Darryl Marfo, 18 Will Collier, 19 George Merrick, 20 Henry Cheeseman, 21 Sam Stuart, 22 Louis Grimoldby, 23 Tom Casson.


15 Geraint Rhys Jones, 14 Ashton Hewitt, 13 Matthew Pewtner, 12 Ross Wardle, 11 Aled Brew, 10 Dorian Jones, 9 Jonathan Evans, 8 Andy Powell, 7 James Benjamin, 6 Andrew Coombs, 5 Cory Hill (c), 4 James Thomas, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Owen Evans.

Replacements: 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Phil Price, 18 David Young, 19 Joe Davies, 20 Ollie Griffiths, 21 Luc Jones, 22 Barney Nightingale, 23 Rhys Williams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.