Quins vs Dragons Anglo Welsh LV= Cup preview

Harlequins host Exeter Chiefs at the Twickenham Stoop

Harlequins have named an all English qualified squad for their Anglo Welsh LV= Cup match against Newport Gwent Dragons at the Twickenham Stoop on Friday.

Out of the twenty-three players in the squad 18 have progressed through, or are current members of the Harlequins Academy.

Charlie Matthews, Kyle Sinckler and Jack Clifford, who returns from injury, are among three changes to last week’s forwards, in a pack where seven are aged 23 or younger.

In the backs, Tim Swiel makes his starting debut for the club as Matt Hopper is named at outside centre.

Tom Casson is named among the replacements.

Meanwhile, South African tighthead Brok Harris has been given the nod by Lyn Jones to make his debut for the Newport Gwent Dragons

Geraint Rhys Jones will start at full-back for the Dragons and will be joined in the back three alongside teenager Ashton Hewitt and Aled Brew.

The centre paring takes on the form of Matthew Pewtner and Ross Wardle who has returned from a long term knee injury. Dorian Jones gets the nod to start as fly-half whilst 22-year-old Jonathan Evans takes on the scum-half position.

The front row consists of props Owen Evans and debutant Brok Harris, whilst Elliot Dee takes on the position of hooker.

James Thomas, who put on an impressive display against Ulster, retains his place in the second row alongside Cory Hill who returns from injury to captain the side. The back row sees the return of Andrew Coombs at blind side flanker – he will play alongside James Benjamin and Andy Powell.

Match : Harlequins vs Dragons
Date : Fri 7/11/14
Venue : Twickenham Stoop
Kick Off : 19:45 GMT
Live on: N/A
Match Officials
Referee: Greg Macdonald (England)
Assistant referees: Kelvin Stewart (England), Roy Maybank (England)
Timekeeper: Roy Marfleet (England)
Assessor: Gary Welsh (England)



15 Ross Chisholm, 14 Charlie Walker, 13 Matt Hopper, 12 Jordan Turner-Hall, 11 Ollie Lindsay-Hague, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Karl Dickson (c), 8 James Chisholm, 7 Jack Clifford, 6 Joe Trayfoot, 5 Sam Twomey, 4 Charlie Matthews, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Rob Buchanan, 1 Mark Lambert.

Replacements: 16 Dave Ward, 17 Darryl Marfo, 18 Will Collier, 19 George Merrick, 20 Henry Cheeseman, 21 Sam Stuart, 22 Louis Grimoldby, 23 Tom Casson.


15 Geraint Rhys Jones, 14 Ashton Hewitt, 13 Matthew Pewtner, 12 Ross Wardle, 11 Aled Brew, 10 Dorian Jones, 9 Jonathan Evans, 8 Andy Powell, 7 James Benjamin, 6 Andrew Coombs, 5 Cory Hill (c), 4 James Thomas, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Owen Evans.

Replacements: 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Phil Price, 18 David Young, 19 Joe Davies, 20 Ollie Griffiths, 21 Luc Jones, 22 Barney Nightingale, 23 Rhys Williams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.