Saracens hold on to beat Harlequins in LV Cup

Saracens held on to beat Harlequins 25-20 in their first Anglo Welsh LV= Cup match this season at Allianz Park on Sunday afternoon.

Two tries in three minutes set Saracens on the road to victory when centre Duncan Taylor and winger Mike Ellery both found their way over the line.

Taylor had the whereabouts to pounce on a loose clearance to run it back for the score, while Ellery, a former England Sevens player, capitalised on a break from full-back Ben Ransom to beat George Lowe’s tackle for the try.

Scrum-half Ben Spencer was handed the kicking duties in the absence of Owen Farrell and Charlie Hodgson and his penalty opened the scoring for the home side.

Young fly-half Louis Grimoldby put Harlequins ahead in the 33rd minute with a penalty of his own, but the visitors were way off the pace with Saracens leading 15-3 by half-time.

A subdued start to the second half ended when Mark Lambert went over from close range for Harlequins to narrow the scores, but it was short-lived.

Jack Wilson, a replacement for Ellery, carried on where his predecessor had left off by racking up Saracens’ third try for a 22-10 lead.

The winger was on hand to finish off some fine passing between the backs for try number three.

Quins refused to give up the fight however and hit back through Charlie Walker’s try, after good work from their rolling maul, with debutant Tim Swiel’s second conversion keeping the contest alive.

Ollie Lindsay-Hague’s yellow card left Harlequins in an uphill battle for the victory, with a scrum penalty helping Spencer to three more points with time running out.

Swiel kept the pressure on with a penalty but Saracens held firm for the win.

Final Score Saracens 25 (15) Harlequins 20 (3)


Tries – Taylor, Ellery, Wilson
Pen -Spencer (2)
Con – Spencer (2)
Drop –

Tries – Lambert, Walker
Pen – Grimoldby, Swiel
Con – Swiel (2)
Drop –

Match Officials
Leighton Hodges (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Roy Maybank, Ashley Rowden
TMO: Sean Davey


Saracens: 15 Ben Ransom, 14 Mike Ellery, 13 Nick Tomkins, 12 Duncan Taylor, 11 Catalin Fercu, 10 Nils Mordt, 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Jacques Burger, 6 Maro Itoje (c), 5 Mouritz Botha, 4 Jim Hamilton, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Scott Spurling, 1 Rhys Gill

Replacements: 16 Brett Sharman, 17 Richard Barrington, 18 Biyi Alo, 19 Nick De Jager, 20 Matt Hankin, 21 Tom Whiteley, 22 Marcelo Bosch, 23 Jack Wilson.

Harlequins: 15 Ross Chisholm, 14 Charlie Walker, 13 George Lowe, 12 Jordan Turner-Hall, 11 Ollie Lindsay-Hague, 10 Louis Grimoldby, 9 Karl Dickson (c), 8 James Chisholm, 7 Luke Wallace, 6 Joe Trayfoot, 5 Sam Twomey, 4 George Merrick, 3 Will Collier, 2 Rob Buchanan, 1 Mark Lambert

Replacements: 16 Dave Ward, 17 Darryl Marfo, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 Kieran Treadwell, 20 Henry Cheeseman, 21 Sam Stuart, 22 Tim Swiel, 23 Aseli Tikoirotuma

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.