Leicester Tigers halt losing streak to Ulster

Leicester Tigers ended a three match losing streak to Ulster in European Rugby with a 25-18 Rugby Champions Cup victory at Welford Road on Saturday.

Ulster had won all three of the previous meetings between the two sides including their most recent clash when Ulster won 19-22 at Welford Road in January.

Leicester Tigers left their poor Aviva Premiership form behind as they blew
Ulster apart in a blistering first-half performance.

The Tigers roared from the start and once they had stemmed an early storm, which
included a Paddy Wallace penalty, they raced into a 19-3 interval lead.

Centre Owen Williams started the first-half rout with a try at the posts which
Freddie Burns managed to convert.

Then scrum-half and Man of the match Ben Youngs nipped in to intercept a pass from his opposite
number Paul Marshall on the blindside of a ruck on the Ulster 22 and his inside
pass allowed Graham Kitchener to cross.

The third try was added by Burns and there could have been a fourth for Youngs
had the TMO not spotted half a foot in touch in the build-up.

The only thing that went wrong for the Tigers in the first half was their
goal-kicking, although once Williams took over from Burns that situation certainly

The Welshman kicked a first-half conversion and then added a penalty early
in the second-half to stretch the lead to 22-3.

Ulster responded with a second penalty from Wallace, but that still left them
with a mountain to climb in the final quarter. But they kept on climbing and
two super tries brought them back into bonus point territory.

Tommy Bowe ran in the first after some brilliant inter-play with Jared Payne
down the right wing and then South African lock Franco van der Merwe dived over
the top of a maul on the home line to bag a second.

Wallace converted Bowe’s fine try, which allowed him to join the European
Elite try scorers with 25 in the top tier, but then saw Jamie Gibson charge
down his second attempt to provide more frustration for the Ulster faithful.

Ulster kept on going, but they couldn’t quite bridge the gap and had to be
content with one point instead of more.

Final Score Leicester Tigers 25 (19) Ulster 18 (3)


Leicester Tigers
Tries – Williams, Kitchener, Burns
Pen – Williams (2)
Con – Burns, Williams
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Bowe, Van der Merwe
Pen – Jackson (2)
Con – Jackson
Drop –
Cards –


Leicester Tigers

15 Matthew Tait 14 Blaine Scully 13 Manu Tuilagi 12 Owen Williams 11 Vereniki Goneva 10 Freddie Burns 9 Ben Youngs (capt) 8 Jordan Crane 7 Julian Salvi 6 Jamie Gibson 5 Graham Kitchener 4 Brad Thorn 3 Fraser Balmain 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini 1 Marcos Ayerza

Replacements : 16 Harry Thacker 17 Michele Rizzo 18 Tiziano Pasquali 19 Sebastian De Chaves 20 Robert Barbieri 21 David Mele 22 Sam Harrison 23 Miles Benjamin


15 Louis Ludik 14 Tommy Bowe 13 Jared Payne 12 Stuart McCloskey 11 Craig Gilroy 10 Paddy Jackson 9 Paul Marshall 8 Nick Williams 7 Chris Henry 6 Robbie Diack 5 Franco Van Der Merwe 4 Lewis Stevenson 3 Wiehahn Herbst 2 Rory Best (capt) 1 Andy Warwick

Replacements :16 Rob Herring 17 Callum Black 18 Declan Fitzpatrick 19 Clive Ross 20 Roger Wilson 21 Michael Heaney 22 Stuart Olding 23 Darren Cave

With thanks to EPCRugby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.