Glasgow make light work of Bath in Champions Cup

Glasgow Warriors kicked off their Rugby Champions Cup campaign with a solid 37-10 victory over English Premiership side Bath at a sold-out Scotstoun Stadium.

Mark Bennett scored two tries and wings Sean Maitland and Tommy Seymour all
crossed during a dominant first-half display.

A mistake from Stuart Hogg under the high ball allowed Jonathan Joseph to
grab a try for the Aviva Premiership side but scores from Niko Matawalu and
Bennett after the break wrapped up the win.

“We knew it was going to be a step up from the PRO12,” said Warriors
skipper and Heineken Man of the Match, Henry Pyrgos.

“We’ve done well in the league over the last few years but not in Europe.
Hopefully this is the start of something good in Europe this season.”

Fly-half George Ford kicked an early penalty for Bath but Bennett hit straight
back with a try.

Duncan Weir added the extras for the home side but their lead lasted less than
two minutes. A dropped ball in midfield allowed Bath centre Joseph to hack forward
and go under the posts.

But two Weir penalties put the Warriors back in front as they took control.
Superb play in the back-line saw Hogg put Scotland international Maitland over
in the corner after half hour and four minutes before the break Tommy Seymour
grabbed their third try.

Replacement DTH van der Merwe spurned a great chance to claim a fourth try
for Warriors after the interval when he knocked on five metres out but Fijian
scrum-half Matawalu secured the bonus point when he collected his own chip to
dive over in the corner.

Warriors got a fifth try when van der Merwe broke clear from inside his own
half and kicked ahead for Bennett to cross for his second in a superb display
from the Scots.

Final Score Glasgow 37 (23) Bath 10 (10)


Glasgow Warriors
Tries – Bennett 2, Maitland, Seymour, Matawalu
Pen – Weir 2
Con – Weir 3
Drop –

Tries – Joseph
Pen – Ford
Con – Ford
Drop –


Glasgow Warriors: Stuart Hogg; Sean Maitland, Mark Bennett, Peter Horne, Tommy Seymour; Duncan Weir, Henry Pyrgos (capt); Gordon Reid, Pat MacArthur, Euan Murray, Leone Nakarawa, Jonny Gray, Rob Harley, Chris Fusaro, Adam Ashe.

Replacements: Dougie Hall, Jerry Yanuyanutawa, Rossouw de Klerk, Tim Swinson, Tyrone Holmes, Niko Matawalu, Finn Russell, DTH van der Merwe.

Bath: Gavin Henson; Semesa Rokoduguni, Jonathan Joseph, Kyle Eastmond, Anthony Watson; George Ford, Micky Young; Nick Auterac, Ross Batty, Henry Thomas; Stuart Hooper (capt), Dave Attwood, Dominic Day, Guy Mercer, David Sisi.

Replacements: Rob Webber, Paul James, David Wilson, Charlie Ewels, Tom Ellis, Peter Stringer, Ollie Devoto, Horacio Agulla.

With thanks to EPCRugby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.