Newcastle Falcons snap 20 match losing streak

Newcastle Falcons ended a 20 match Aviva Premiership losing streak when they beat Exeter Chiefs 29-24 at Kingston Park in the North East of England.

Newcastle Wasps had lost every Premiership match they had contested since beating London Irish at Kingston Park on the 27th October 2013 but have now put the tournament’s third worst losing sequence behind them.

Newcastle went into the match above London Welsh on points difference alone
but Dean Richards’ side showed commendable resilience coming from behind to
hand Exeter just their second loss of the campaign.

The hosts made two changes from their last outing but fell behind early on
with Chiefs captain Jack Yeandle notching the first try of the afternoon after
just five minutes. The hooker touching down after good line-out work from the

Two penalties followed from the boot of Newcastle fly-half Juan Pablo Sicino
before Rob Baxter’s side struck again.

Flanker Ben White was the scorer, making the most of a mistake by Falcons full-back
Alex Tait, but with the conversion missed, Sinoti Sinoti was able to restore
Newcastle’s lead soon after.

The Samoan winger went in after good work down the blindside, Sicino was unable
to convert from out wide but did extend the lead four minutes later with a simple

That appeared to be final score of the half but with just seconds remaining
Henry Slade took a neat pass from Gareth Steenson to give the Chiefs a one point
lead at the interval.

The lead was extended to seven points with twelve minutes remaining before
Newcastle turned the screw.

Firstly replacement Tom Catterick crossed to level the scores before Noah Cato
streaked away to finish in the corner just two minutes later.

The hosts held firm late on to claim their first league win of the campaign
and leave Exeter with just a losing bonus point to comfort them on the long
trip back to the West Country.

Final Score Newcastle Falcons 29 (14) Exeter Chiefs 24 (15)


Newcastle Falcons
Tries – Sinoti, Catterick, Cato
Pen – Socino (4)
Con – Socino
Drop –
Cards –

Exeter Chiefs
Tries – Yeandle, White, Slade
Pen – Steenson (3)
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Tim Wigglesworth (86th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Roy Maybank and Paul Dix.
TMO: David Grashoff


Newcastle Falcons

15. Alex Tait, 14. Sinoti Sinoti, 13. Gonzalo Tiesi, 12. Adam Powell, 11. Noah Cato, 10. Juan Pablo Socino, 9. Ruki Tipuna, 8. Ally Hogg, 7. Will Welch (c), 6. Mark Wilson, 5. Dom Barrow, 4. Calum Green, 3. Scott Wilson, 2. Scott Lawson , 1. Kieran Brookes

Replacements: 16. Rob Hawkins, 17. Alex Rogers, 18. Oliver Tomaszczyk, 19. Josh Furno, 20. Richard Mayhew, 21. Mike Blair, 22. Rory Clegg, 23. Tom Catterick

Exeter Chiefs

15 Phil Dollman , 14 Tom James , 13 Henry Slade , 12 Ian Whitten , 11 Matt Jess , 10 Gareth Steenson , 9 Will Chudley , 1 Ben Moon , 2 Jack Yeandle (capt) , 3 Tomas Francis , 4 Don Armand , 5 Damian Welch , 6 Dave Ewers , 7 Ben White , 8 Thomas Waldrom

Replacements : 16 Elvis Taione , 17 Carl Rimmer , 18 Moray Low , 19 Ryan Caldwell , 20 Kai Horstmann , 21 Haydn Thomas , 22 Sam Hill , 23 Chrysander Botha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.