Harlequins hammer London Welsh

Harlequins earned a bonus point Aviva Premiership victory when they hammered London Welsh 52-0 at the Twickenham Stoop on Saturday.

Harlequins got back to winning ways with a seven try victory while Welsh succumbed
to a fifth consecutive heavy defeat

Mike Brown and Danny Care tries, plus seven points from the boot of Nick Evans,
eased Quins into a 17-0 advantage at the interval.

Marland Yarde and Matt Hopper crossed the whitewash after the break to secure
the five points before further tries from Karl Dickson, Yarde and a penalty
try completed the scoring.

And they got off to the worse possible start at the Twickenham Stoop when in
the fifth minute England full-back Brown crossed the whitewash.

As in their opening encounters, they were struggling to match the pace and
intensity of their opponents, and it wasn’t long before they conceded their
second try.

The Quins forwards made the initial incursions before Asaeli Tikoirotuma broke
through a gaping hole in the visiting defence and off-loaded to Care who touched

Evans added a penalty to take the hosts 17 points clear before the Exiles found
some spirit to put pressure on the opposition defence, but the home side held
out until half-time.

Head coach Justin Burnell needed a response in the second period but within
five minutes of the restart, Harlequins effectively ended any chances of a comeback.

Two tries in as many minutes from Yarde – his first for the club – and Hopper
secured the bonus-point and the victory.

With the match already won, the game lost its fluency and it took until 15
minutes from time for the hosts to extend their lead with a penalty try.

The floodgates opened once again and scores from Dickson and Yarde completed
yet another miserable day for Welsh.

Final Score Harlequins 52 (17) London Welsh 0 (0)


Tries – Brown, Care, Yarde (2), Hopper, Penalty, Dickson
Pen – Evans
Con – Evans (7)
Drop –
Cards –

London Welsh
Tries –
Pen –
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Dean Richards (71st Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Kevin Stewart and AndyWatson.
TMO: Trevor Fisher.



15. Mike Brown, 14. Marland Yarde, 13. Matt Hopper, 12. Tom Casson, 11. Aseli Tikoirotuma, 10. Nick Evans, 9. Danny Care, 8. Nick Easter, 7. Chris Robshaw, 6. Luke Wallace, 5. George Robson, 4. Charlie Matthews, 3. Kyle Sinckler, 2. Joe Gray ,1. Joe Marler (C)

Replacements: 16. Dave Ward, 17. Mark Lambert, 18. Will Collier, 19. Sam Twomey, 20. Joe Trayfoot, 21. Karl Dickson, 22. Ben Botica, 23. Ollie Lindsay-Hague

London Welsh

15. Seb Jewell, 14. Seb Stegmann, 13. Nic Reynolds, 12. Tom May* (C), 11. Nick Scott, 10. Olly Barkley*, 9. Piri Weepu*, 1. Ricky Reeves, 2. Koree Britton, 3. Taione Vea*, 4. Dean Schofield*, 5. James Down, 6. Peter Browne 7. Lachlan McCaffrey, 8. Ollie Stedman.

Replacements: 16. Nathan Morris, 17. Pablo Henn*, 18. Eddie Aholelei*, 19. Ben Pienaar, 20. Chris Hala’ufia*, 21. Rob Lewis, 22. Tristan Roberts, 23. Rhys Crane.
* Denotes full international

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.