London Irish get rare win over Leicester Tigers

Shane Geraghty kicked 17 points to help London Irish secure their first Aviva Premiership victory over Leicester Tigers at Welford Road in eleven years.

Shane Geraghty’s last-minute penalty handed London Irish the famous victory.

Irish suffered heartbreak in last week’s clash with Saracens, losing with a
last-minute try, but held their nerve to secure a big win.

Leicester were also smarting from a hammering last time out, and suffered once
again in front of their own fans.

The Tigers fell to their worst ever Premiership defeat last week against Bath,
and things almost got worse for them when James Short dived over in the corner.

Fortunately for Richard Cockerill’s men, TMO David Sainsbury chalked off the
score due to an obstruction in the build up.

That said, Leicester were still making needless mistakes, and fell 6-0 down
after a couple of avoidable penalties.

Irish’s spoiling tactics were working very well, with Tigers feeding off scraps
for most of the first half.

Burns did manage to get them off the mark with a well taken penalty.

With moments to go before half-time, the away side shocked the Welford Road
crowd again, with Halani Aulika charging over from close range.

Burns hit back just before the break to make the score 13-6. Leicester came
out the brighter side after the interval, with Burns narrowing the gap further
with an early penalty.

Geraghty continued to cancel out the fly half though, smashing over another
three points. The game was in the balance, with Leicester needing seven points
to draw level.

Vereniki Goneva was the man to deliver five of those points for the Tigers.
The Fijian was alert at the breakdown, sneaking over the line to a rapturous
reception from the 21,682 strong crowd. Burns’ conversion made it 16 all.

Geraghty put the away side in the lead again, only for Owen Williams to hammer
over a sensational penalty from 55 metres.

Irish’s accuracy from the boot proved the crucial factor, with Geraghty nailing
the final penalty of the game to secure a surprise win.

Final Score Leicester Tigers (6) 19 London Irish (13) 22


Leicester Tigers
Try: Goneva
Pens: Burns 3, Williams
Con: Burns

London Irish
Try: Aulika
Pens: Geraghty 5
Cons: Geraghty

Match Officials
Greg Garner (68th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Simon McConnell and Paul Burton.
TMO: David Sainsbury.


Leicester Tigers

15 Mathew Tait , 14 Blaine Scully , 13 Vereniki Goneva , 12 Owen Williams , 11 Miles Benjamin , 10 Freddie Burns , 9 Ben Youngs (c) , 8 Jordan Crane, 7 Julian Salvi , 6 Jamie Gibson , 5 Graham Kitchener , 4 Sebastian De Chaves , 3 Fraser Balmain , 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini ,1 Tom Bristow

Replacements :16 Neil Briggs , 17 Riccardo Brugnara , 18 Tiziano Pasquali , 19 Laurence Pearce , 20 Robert Barbieri , 21 Harry Wells , 22 Sam Harrison , 23 Matt Smith

London Irish

15. Andrew Fenby; 14. Alex Lewington; 13. Fergus Mulchrone; 12. Shane Geraghty*; 11. James Short; 10. Chris Noakes; 9. Scott Steele; 1. Tom Court*; 2. David Paice*; 3. Halani Aulika*; 4. George Skivington (Captain); 5. Jebb Sinclair*; 6. Kieran Low*; 7. Blair Cowan*; 8. Luke Narraway*

Replacements: 16. Gerard Ellis; 17. Matt Parr; 18. Leo Halavatau; 19. Dan Leo*; 20. Tom Guest; 21. Tomas O’Leary*; 22. Eamonn Sheridan; 23. Topsy Ojo*
*Denotes International

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.