Ross leads Blue Bulls in Currie Cup against Sharks

The Blue Bulls have named their side to face the Sharks at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria with Jono Ross taking over the captaincy for the suspended skipper Deon Stegman.

Ross was the regular skipper in 2013 and will lead a team that include four new faces in Wiaan Liebenberg, Callie Visagie, Sampie Mastriet and Rudy Paige from the starting line-up that beat EP Kings last weekend.

Liebenberg comes in for Stegmann, a fit-again Visagie replaces Bongi Mbonambi and Mastriet comes in for Akona Ndungane on the wing. Paige moves up from the bench swopping places with Piet van Zyl.

Mbonambi edges out Bandise Maku. Jesse Kriel (for Ryan Nell) has been included on the bench having recovered from an ankle injury, as is Morne Mellett (for Basil Short), back after knee rehabilitation. Tian Schoeman replaces Tony Jantjies as back-up flyhalf in a final selection switch for this Currie Cup clash.

Blue Bulls coach Frans Ludeke admitted that they will have to be at their best against the visitors, who are currently in fourth spot on the Premier Division log. The Blue Bulls are in sixth position.

“We are now in a critical phase of the competition. It is already clear to all that you need to be at your very best every weekend if you want to make the final four, so we really don’t have any other option. The Sharks are well-balanced and have massive strike power at the back.”

Ludeke said it was too early to look at play-off permutations.

“We can only run our own race week after week and that will ultimately determine our fate. If we keep on winning and get the right result in the remaining weeks, I am sure we will be in the top four, but we cannot afford to look past this weekend’s match.”

Blue Bulls

Ulrich Beyers**, Sampie Mastriet***, William Small-Smith**, Burger Odendaal, Bjorn Basson*, Jacques Louis Potgieter, Rudy Paige, Jono Ross (c), Jacques du Plessis**, Wiaan Liebenberg**, Grant Hattingh, Paul Willemse**, Werner Kruger*, Callie Visagie, Dean Greyling*.

Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi**, Morné Mellett**, Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg**, Jacques Engelbrecht***, Piet van Zyl*, Tian Schoeman, Jesse Kriel**.

**Junior Springbok;
***Springbok Sevens

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.