Exeter Chiefs smash London Welsh in Premiership

London Welsh had a difficult reintroduction to Aviva Premiership as Exeter Chiefs hammered the Oxford based side 0-52 at the Kassam Stadium.

New Exeter Chief Thomas Waldrom touched down twice in the first half, while
Henry Slade also added a penalty, as the Sandy Park-based outfit took a 0-17
lead into the interval.

And Exeter cruised to a dominant opening weekend triumph as Dave Ewers, Sam
Hill, Ian Whitten, Jack Arnott and Chrysander Botha all crossed in the second
period to complete an excellent display.

It proved to be a chastening experience for newly-promoted Welsh who brought
in a remarkable 25 players over the summer.

They started brightly enough, with Nick Scott going close, but the hosts’ disorganisation
was soon exposed by a powerful Chiefs’ side.

Defensively they were all at sea and it took just 11 minutes for Waldrom to
open his account for his new club following the move from Leicester Tigers.

The try was initiated in their own 22 as impressive hands, control and creativity
took them deep into the Exiles’ half. Gareth Steenson spotted a hole in the
defence and off-loaded to the back-rower who crossed the whitewash unopposed.

Exeter had more chances to extend their advantage but a deserved second score
didn’t arrive until the 27th minute when the Kiwi-born number eight went over.
Slade then kicked a penalty late in the half to take them 17-0 ahead at the

Welsh head coach Justin Burnell would have looked for a response from his team
in the second 40 but it didn’t arrive and Ewers was soon touching down for the
Chiefs’ third try.

Hill secured the bonus-point when he intercepted and sprinted in from 40 metres
out before Whitten continued the misery for the home side.

Arnott scored just a few seconds after coming on as a substitute and the embarrassment
was finally ended for the hosts when Botha went over from long range.

Final Score London Welsh 0 (0) Exeter Chiefs 52 (17)


London Welsh

Exeter Chiefs
Tries: Waldrom 2, Ewers, Hill, Whitten, Arnott, Botha
Pens: Slade Cons: Steenson 7

Match Officials
Dean Richards (69th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Roger Baileff and Roy Maybank.
TMO: Graham Hughes.


London Welsh

15. Seb Jewell, 14. Seb Stegmann, 13. Tom May* (C), 12. Tim Molenaar, 11. Nick Scott, 10. Olly Barkley*, 9. Piri Weepu*, 1. Ricky Reeves, 2. Koree Britton, 3. Taione Vea*, 4. Dean Schofield*, 5. James Down, 6. Pete Browne, 7. Richard Thorpe, 8. Lachlan McCaffrey.

Replacements: 16. Nathan Vella, 17. Pablo Henn*, 18. Jack Gilding, 19. Matt Corker, 20. Ollie Stedman, 21. Rob Lewis, 22. Tristan Roberts, 23. Rhys Crane.

* Denotes full international

Exeter Chiefs

15 Chrysander Botha , 14 Ian Whitten , 13 Henry Slade , 12 Sam Hill , 11 Matt Jess , 10 Gareth Steenson , 9 Haydn Thomas ,1 Carl Rimmer , 2 Jack Yeandle (capt) , 3 Tomas Francis , 4 Mitch Lees , 5 Ryan Caldwell , 6 Dave Ewers , 7 Ben White , 8 Thomas Waldrom

Replacements : 16 Elvis Taione , 17 Ben Moon , 18 Moray Low , 19 Don Armand , 20 Kai Horstmann , 21 Will Chudley , 22 Ceri Sweeney , 23 Jack Arnott

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.