Potgieter returns in Currie Cup for Blue Bulls

Blue Bulls flyhalf Jacques-Louis Potgieter is back in the starting line-up for Saturday’s Currie Cup match against the Golden Lions at Loftus Versfeld.

Potgieter, replacing Joshua Stander, has recovered from bruised ribs and tonsillitis and is one of five changes to the Blue Bulls backline for the clash.

The visitors will be tackled with a new back three combination. Ulrich Beyers has been included at fullback, replacing the injured Jesse Kriel, whilst Jamba Ulengo will make his Currie Cup debut on the wing, replacing Akona Ndungane. Sampie Mastriet moves from left wing to right wing.

At outside centre, JJ Engelbrecht returns at the expense of William Small-Smith and at scrumhalf, Rudy Paige will start with Piet van Zyl dropping to the bench.

This leaves Burger Odendaal as the only player from the defeat against Western Province to start in the same position.

In the pack, Bongi Mbonambi will start with Callie Visagie on the bench. The bench will also see a new face with Blue Bulls Cup stalwart Basil Short propping up the bench in place of the injured Hencus van Wyk.

“We know the importance of a win only too well,” Ludeke said.

“I am confident that we have the right combinations for this weekend. I am excited to see Jamba as he has worked very hard since joining us for the Currie Cup season, JJ was part of the Springbok squad this year and Ulrich played well in the Super Rugby competition. Jacques-Louis is also a class player and match-winner in his own right and it is great to have him back.”

Blue Bulls captain, flanker Deon Stegmann, confirmed his team’s desire to win the title this year.

“We are very close to the tipping point and this match could define our season. For us to reach our goal of a Currie Cup final, we must deliver on Saturday. We are playing a very capable opponent, so there are no shortcuts for this one. We must front up and win.”

Blue Bulls

Ulrich Beyers, Sampie Mastriet, JJ Engelbrecht, Burger Odendaal, Jamba Ulengo, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Rudy Paige, Jono Ross, Jacques du Plessis, Deon Stegmann (c), Grant Hattingh, Paul Willemse, Werner Kruger, Bongi Mbonambi, Dean Greyling.

Replacements: Callie Visagie, Basil Short, Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, Jacques Engelbrecht, Piet van Zyl, Tony Jantjies, Ryan Nell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.