SA Ref Joubert admits he got it wrong in the final

Crusaders captain Richie McCaw has revealed that the 2014 Super Rugby Final referee Craig Joubert has apologised to coach Todd Blackadder for mistakes made in the final.

McCaw told Radio Sport that South African Joubert has rung Crusaders coach Todd Blackadder and “put his hand up” that he made a wrong call that probably cost the Crusaders the title.

The Waratahs beat the Crusaders 33-32 in Sydney with the final title winning points coming from a penalty that was awarded when flanker Richie McCaw was penalised for entering a ruck from the side with a minute remaining in the match.

Had Bernard Foley missed the kick the Crusaders would have had possession and the lead and they would have been unlikely to cough up posssession in the final seconds.

The ruling has been widely debated since the final and former South African referee Jonathan Kaplan said in his blog that the penalty should not have been awarded as it was “incorrect” and “the Crusaders would have reason to feel a little hard done by”.

Kaplan also pointed out that he felt the Crusaders were fortunate that they were awarded a try by the TMO as it looked like Nemani Nadolo had brushed the whitewash in the process of scoring a try that was awarded.

The revelation is the second admittance of a costly mistake in a week by a South African referee against a New Zealand team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close