Argentina make two changes for Springboks

Argentina coach Daniel Hourcade has made two changes to the Pumas starting line up that lost 13-6 to the Springboks for the Rugby Championship rematch against South Africa on Saturday.

Juan Martin Hernandez has been named at centre after he was a late withdrawal from the team that played South Africa in Pretoria last weekend.

Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino was on the replacements bench last week but has been promoted into the starting line up and replaces Horacio Agulla on the right wing.

The forward pack that stood up to the Springboks in the scrums and the line outs has been retained and Agustin Creevy retains the captaincy.

Prop Marcos Ayerza is in line to play his 50th test in the northeastern city of Salta.

The Pumas have been in the Rugby Championship since 2012 and are still waiting for their first victory after playing 13 matches in the tournament.

Their best result remains their 16-all draw against South Africa in Argentina two years ago. While the Pumas regularly Test the Springboks they have never beaten the South Africans.


Joaquin Tuculet, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, Marcelo Bosch, Juan Martin Hernandez, Manuel Montero, Nicolas Sanchez, Martin Landajo; Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, Pablo Matera, Tomas Lavanini, Mariano Galarza, Ramiro Herrera, Agustin Creevy (captain), Marcos Ayerza.

Replacements: Matias Cortese, Bruno Postiglioni, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Matias Alemanno, Leonardo Senatore, Tomas Cubelli, Jeronimo De la Fuente, Horacio Agulla.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.