Western Province smash Blue Bulls in Currie Cup

Western Province scored six tries on their way to a 41-17 Currie Cup victory over the Blue Bulls at Newlands on Saturday.

Western Province’s attacking prowess was too difficult to contain as they ran
in three tries without reply on the way to a deserved 19-6 half-time lead in
their second-round Currie Cup clash at Newlands on Saturday.

The visiting Bulls opted to run their early possession but came up against
a WP brick wall and they made no headway.

WP, on the other hand, looked to spread the ball wide and there was a hint
that it was just a matter of time before they would breach the Bulls’ defence.

WP halfback Nic Groom took a quick tap penalty on the Bulls’ 22m line in the
ninth minute and caught the opposition off guard. Left wing Seabelo Senatla
linked up superbly with Groom and ran a great line before dotting down the first
try in the match.

Flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis added the conversion (7-0).

Jacques-Louis Potgieter kept the scoreboard ticking over for the Bulls with
two penalties but WP sandwiched a converted Pat Cilliers’ try between those
kicks and after 20 minutes’ play the home side led 14-6.

With WP continuing to play running rugby, the Bulls’ defence leaked an opening
in the 23rd minute and No 8 Nizaam Carr streaked through for an unconverted
try taking the half time score to 19-6.

Western Province ran in a further three second half tries to secure a convincing
Currie Cup victory.

Final Score Western Province 41 (19) Blue Bulls 17 (6)


Western Province
Tries: Seabelo Senatla (2), Pat Cilliers, Nizaam Carr, Michael Rhodes, Juan de Jongh
Conversions: Demetri Catrakilis (4)
Penalty: Catrakilis

Blue Bulls
Try: Bongi Mbonambi
Penalties: Jacques-Louis Potgieter (4)


Western Province

15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh (captain), 12. Michael van der Spuy, 11. Seabelo Senatla, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Manuel Carizza, 4. Jean Kleyn , 3. Pat Cilliers (vice-captain), 2. Stephan Coetzee (First Currie Cup start for Western Province), 1. Alistair Vermaak

Replacements: 16. Neil Rautenbach (On Currie Cup debut for Western Province), 17. Brok Harris, 18. Ruan Botha, 19. Rynhardt Elstadt, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Kurt Coleman, 22. Jaco Taute

Blue Bulls

Jurgen Visser, Akona Ndungane, JJ Engelbrecht, Burger Odendaal, Sampie Mastriet, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Piet van Zyl, Jono Ross, Jacques du Plessis, Deon Stegmann, Grant Hattingh, Paul Willemse, Werner Kruger, Callie Visagie, Marcel van der Merwe.

Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi, Hencus Van Wyk, Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, Jacques Engelbrecht, Rudy Paige, Tony Jantjies, Jesse Kriel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.