Griquas start Francke in Currie Cup against Cheetahs

Griquas centre Jonathan Francke has been named in his team’s Currie Cup side to play the Cheetahs after being cleared to play in Bloemfontein.

Francke was red-carded in last week’s Currie Cup opener but is free to play this week.

Coach Hawies Fourie made a couple of changes to his starting line up after a disruptive week waiting for a decision on Francke.

Stalwart flanker Hilton Lobberts was struggling with a hamstring injury and not able to play.

Maks van Dyk, the only prop in the current set up with Super Rugby experience, was relegated to the bench after a average performance against the Durban side, while winger Danie Dames was out with an injury.

“We’ve made changes to the side as we deemed necessary and one of those means that Maks will get game time from the bench,” Fourie said.

“With Hilton and Danie injured, we have included RJ Liebenberg and Ederies Arendse respectively, while Ewald van der Westhuizen gets his chance in the prop position.

“Jonathan is also on the bench after the whole red card incident and is replaced by the PJ Vermeulen at centre.”

The Cheetahs were without props Coenie and Caylib Oosthuizen, and a number of players involved with the Springboks, but Fourie would not buy into the “favourites” banter which was part of the build up to Saturday’s clash against their neighbours.

“We know what a huge challenge the Cheetahs will be. They always lift their game at their home ground.

“The put in a good performance against the Pumas last weekend even though they lost and we won’t make the mistake of underestimating them.

“We’ve kept the rest of the side as is and hopefully that momentum will give us a much needed boost after the loss to the Sharks.”


Nico Scheepers, Ederies Arendse, PJ Vermeulen, Wayne Stevens (captain), Rocco Jansen, Francois Brummer, Tian Meyer, Carel Greeff, RJ Liebenberg, Marnus Schoeman, Jaco Nepgen, Boela Serfontein, Ewald van der Westhuizen, Ryno Barnes, Steph Roberts.

Replacements: Martin Bezuidenhout, Maks van Dyk, Hugo Kloppers, Burger Schoeman, Abrie Griesel, Marais Schmidt, Jonathan Francke.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.