Western Province name young Currie Cup squad

Western Province coach Allister Coetzee has named a young Currie Cup squad that includes seven players who are still eligible for the under-21 side.

Cheslin Kolbe, Sti Sithole, Jean Kleyn, Jurie van Vuuren, Sikhumbuzo Notshe and Robert du Preez were the youngsters selected for the senior team.

Owing to injuries, Steven Kitshoff and Ryno Eksteen will not take part in the competition.

New wing signing William Ambaka Ndayara was named in the group along with Dillyn Leyds, who returns to Cape Town from the Western Force in Australia.

Province will begin their campaign against the Eastern Province Kings in Port Elizabeth on August 8.

The Province captain is scheduled to be announced on Monday.

Western Province Currie Cup squad:

Justin Ackerman, Willy Ambaka, Ruan Botha, Manuel Carizza, Nizaam Carr, Demetri Catrakilis, Pat Cilliers, Stephan Coetzee, Kurt Coleman, Damian de Allende, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, Robert du Preez, Rynhardt Elstadt, Eben Etzebeth, Tazz Fuzani, Gerbrandt Grobler, Nic Groom, Brok Harris, Pat Howard, Oliver Kebble, Rohan Kitshoff, Jean Kleyn, Cheslin Kolbe, Siya Kolisi, Dillyn Leyds, Tiaan Liebenberg, Frans Malherbe, Godlen Masimla, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Siya Ntubeni, Neil Rautenbach, Michael Rhodes, Louis Schreuder, Seabelo Senatla, Sti Sithole, Rayn Smid, De Kock Steenkamp, Jaco Taute, Michael van der Spuy, Chevandre van Schoor, Jurie van Vuuren, Kobus van Wyk, Alistair Vermaak, Duane Vermeulen, Michael Willemse, Devon Williams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.