Swiel starts at 10 for Sharks against Cheetahs

The Sharks have named their Super Rugby team to play the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein with several players being rotated and Tim Swiel starting at flyhalf.

While the Sharks have not played for a month as a team several of the Sharks were involved in the June Internationals with the Springboks and Director of Rugby Jake White has chosen to rotate some of them.

White’s rotations mean that the Sharks have six Springboks on the replacements bench with Dale Chadwick, Kyle Cooper and Lourens Adriaanse starting this match.

Anton Bresler returns to action and has been named alongside new-Bok Stefan Lewies in the second row while Jean Deysel takes over the captaincy armband.

Tim Swiel has been named to start at flyhalf with Frans Steyn reverting to centre, partnering S’bura Sithole in the midfield.

Thomas du Toit, back from an outstanding campaign for the SA Under 20 side, has earned a call-up to the senior side, having featured in the Vodacom Cup for the Sharks XV earlier this season.

“The Cheetahs at home are a strong side, you can see that from their record,” said White on the Sharks site.

The Cheetahs have earned the scalps of the Bulls, Stormers and Brumbies at home this season and would love to finish their pool commitments with a flourish.

“They have knocked over some good sides at home and despite all the Springbok players they have from the weekend, it’s not really about the players they have in their roster, they’re simply a good team. We just need to make sure we prepare ourselves properly.”

Looking inward at his own team’s performances away from home this year, they had a highly successful overseas tour which resulted in three wins in New Zealand and Australia and a defeat of the Lions at Ellis Park.

“We have a good away record, probably better than our home record this year strangely enough, although it’s not something we are really concentrating on or giving too much attention to. We just want to make sure we win.”


15. SP Marais , 14. JP Pietersen , 13. S’bura Sithole , 12. Frans Steyn , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Tim Swiel , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Jean Deysel (c) , 6. Maroetzee , 5. Anton Bresler , 4. Stephan Lewies , 3. Lourens Adriaanse , 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Dale Chadwick

Replacements : 16. Thomas du Toit , 17. Bismarck du Plessis , 18. Jannie du Plessis , 19. Willem Alberts , 20. Tera Mtembu , 21. Charl McLeod , 22. Odwa Ndungane , 23. Tonderai Chavhanga

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.