Van der Merwe returns for Lions to face Rebels

The Lions have named their team to play the Melbourne Rebels at Ellis Park on Friday with Franco van der Merwe returning to the starting line up.

Lions head coach has aimed for consistency by naming the same front row and loose forward trio that faced the Bulls before the June Test break.

The only change in the forwards sees Springbok lock Franco van der Merwe return to action, having fully recovered from his ankle injury.

Meanwhile, in the backline, Anthony Volmink will start at left wing, while Deon van Rensburg covers the right wing berth.


15. Coenie van Wyk , 14. Deon van Rensburg , 13. Stokkies Hanekom , 12. Alwyn Hollenbach , 11. Anthony Volmink , 10. Marnitz Boshoff , 9. Ross Cronje , 8. Warren Whiteley , 7. Warwick Tecklenburg , 6. Jaco Kriel , 5. Franco van der Merwe , 4. Franco Mostert , 3. Julian Redelinghuys , 2. Robbie Coetzee , 1. Schalk van der Merwe

Replacements : 16. Armand van der Merwe , 17. Jacques van Rooyen/Corne Fourie , 18. Ruan Dreyer , 19. Willie Britz , 20. Derick Minnie , 21. Faf de Klerk , 22. Elton Jantjies , 23. Lionel Mapoe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.