Rebels announce squad to tour South Africa

The Melbourne Rebels have named their touring squad for their two week Super Rugby tour of South Africa looking to win their first match on South African soil.

The Rebels have two remaining matches this season starting with the Lions in Johannesburg and then finishing with the Bulls in Pretoria.

The Rebels have never won in South Africa although they have come close twice as they finished with bonus point losses against the Lions and Stormers in 2012, and are determined to finish the season on a high following three consecutive disappointing defeats.

Head Coach Tony McGahan has taken 25 players to Johannesburg with him to South Africa.

The remaining Rebels will continue to train at VISY Park and will play this weekend, with the possibility that some may be called upon to head to Pretoria next week.

Full Rebels touring squad :

1.Cruze Ah- Nau , 2.Paul Alo-Emile , 3.Luke Burgess , 4.Jack Debreczeni , 5.Tamati Ellison, 6.Tom English , 7.Colby Fainga’a , 8.Lalakai Foketi , 9.Scott Fuglistaller , 10.Bryce Hegarty , 11.Scott Higginbotham (C) , 12.Shota Horie , 13.Mitch Inman , 14.Luke Jones, 15.Tom Kingston , 16.Pat Leafa , 17.Ben Meehan, 18.Cadeyrn Neville , 19.Hugh Pyle , 20.Jordy Reid , 21.Toby Smith , 22.Nic Stirzaker, 23.Telusa Veainu , 24.Laurie Weeks , 25.Jason Woodward

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.