Nadolo helps Fiji beat Italy in Suva

Nemani Nadolo will miss this week's clash against Wales

Crusaders winger scored 13 points including a try to help Fiji beat Italy 25-14 in the opening match of the June Test series at the ANZ Stadium in Suva.

This was the Fijians’ first Test game of the year under new coach John McKee, which signaled the start of four tough weeks ahead for the Fijian ruggers that include a World Cup play-off against the Cook Islands.

The Italians were expected to be strong upfront due to their traditional prowess, but McKee said his brigade was ready to counter that with the Fijian brand of rugby, reported FijiVillage radio.

He was true as Fiji showed it was a better team.

The coach spoke highly of two local players of his squad, saying backrow Nemani Nagusa would perform extremely well.

“Nagusa trained very well and gave us some good bulk in the scrums. He is an experienced player as he played for Flying Fijians before. Nagusa is a very strong back row player…and showed me fantastic form playing for the Fiji Warriors and Nadroga, ” McKee said.

Fijian skipper Akapusi Qera thanked the families and 18,000 fans who came to support the team on Saturday afternoon.

Final Score Fiji 25 Italy 14


Tries: Nadolo, Nagusa, Nalaga
Cons: Ralulu, Nadolo
Pens: Nadolo 2

Tries: Penalty Try 2
Cons: Orquera 2

Match Officials
JP Doyle (England)
Assistant Referees: Johan Hoffmann (Australia), James Leckie (Australia)
Assessor: Lyndon Bray (New Zealand)



15 Metuisela Talebula, 14 Napolioni Nalaga, 13 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 12 Nemani Nadolo, 11 Timoci Nagusa, 10 Jonetani Ralulu, 9 Nemia Kenatale, 8 Nemani Nagusa, 7 Akapusi Qera (c), 6 Dominiko Waqaniburotu, 5 Api Naikatini, 4 Api Ratuniyarawa, 3 Manasa Saulo, 2 Tuapati Talemaitoga, 1 Campese Ma’afu.

Replacements: 16 Sunia Koto, 17 Jerry Yanuyanutawa, 18 Isei Coalti, 19 Wame Lewaravu, 20 Malakai Ravulo, 21 Nikola Matawalu, 22 Watisoni Votu, 23 Adriu Delai.


15 Luke McLean, 14 Leonardo Sarto, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Alberto Sgarbi, 11 Giovambattista Venditti, 10 Luciano Orquera, 9 Guglielmo Palazzani, 8 Manoa Vosawai, 7 Mauro Bergamasco, 6 Joshua Furno, 5 Marco Bortolami, 4 Quintin Geldenhuys (c), 3 Lorenzo Cittadini, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Matias Aguero.

Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Andrea de Marchi, 18 Alberto de Marchi, 19 George Fabio Biagi, 20 Paul Derbyshire, 21 Tito Tebaldi, 22 Tommaso Allan, 23 Andrea Masi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.